AoO house rule, ever seen/heard it before

Lost in Thyme

First Post
The group that I currently play with have been using a house rule for a while, that I was unaware was a house rule till recently.

Has anyone ever heard of the house rule, that you provoke an AoO when entering or leaving a threatened square?

I've seen second edition and third edition games use this rule, when I was unaware that it was a house rule and it seemed to work fine.

I'm just curious if anyone has ever come across this house rule before?
What do you think of it for the various editions of DnD?

Thank you.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

In 3e, you provoke an AoO only when you leave a threatened square, not when you enter one. Your rule does make AoOs more useful (and hence, more dangerous), but I don't think it affects the game that much unless you build your character around it.
 

In 3e, you provoke an AoO only when you leave a threatened square, not when you enter one. Your rule does make AoOs more useful (and hence, more dangerous), but I don't think it affects the game that much unless you build your character around it.

I didn't come up with it, just played in games where the rule was assumed.
Most people in my group played with the rule long enough, the forgot it was a house rule.

So, I was curious if anyone else had heard the rule.
 

I suspect it is more of a misinterpretation as to what exactly triggers an AoO, rather than a houserule at any rate (because I too thought that entering a threatened square provoked an AoO as well). I am not familiar with 2e, so I have no idea how AoOs work for 2e, if at all.:)
 

The group that I currently play with have been using a house rule for a while, that I was unaware was a house rule till recently.

Has anyone ever heard of the house rule, that you provoke an AoO when entering or leaving a threatened square?

I've seen second edition and third edition games use this rule, when I was unaware that it was a house rule and it seemed to work fine.

I'm just curious if anyone has ever come across this house rule before?
What do you think of it for the various editions of DnD?

Thank you.
You provoke when moving through a threatened square or when leaving a threatened square to take another action. If you only move while leaving a square, you do not provoke.

Does this description match what actually happened in game or were they literally taking AoOs for every occasion when someone entered or left a threatened square?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top