AoO Question

Pinotage

Explorer
Just a quick question that arose in my 3e game.

The priest, facing a nasty critter, cast Fly (Travel Domain) on the defensive in the creature's threatened area, and then argued that he could then move out of the threatened area without provoking a AoO since all he was doing when moving out was a normal move. Is that correct?

The rules state that is you only make a normal move or double move then you don't draw an AoO, so that would dictate that he still would draw it since he cast a spell as well.

Thanks

Pinotage
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If he cast fly and retreated in the same round, he provoked an attack of opportunity, not for casting the spell (since he cast on the defensive), but for leaving a threatened square without using a retreat action and moving more than a 5' step.

Hope this helps.
 

As said, he's got it backwards. If you do something else in the round (like cast a spell) you draw an AoO when you exit the threatened square.

He's thinking of the withdraw action, which is a full round action and nulls the AoO for the first square (but not others IIRC).

If he had cast hte spell, then the next round used the full round action to withdraw, that's fine (unless you pass through more than one threatened square).

Have fun!

-Tatsu
 

Pinotage said:
The rules state that is you only make a normal move or double move then you don't draw an AoO, so that would dictate that he still would draw it since he cast a spell as well.

Right. The 3E rule is that if you do nothing else in the round except move, the square you start in is not threatened.

It's not exactly the same as the 3.5 Withdraw action. For example, in 3.5, you can take the Withdraw action, then cast a Quickened spell. In 3E, if you take a double move, then cast a Quickened spell, then moving is not the only thing you do that round, and therefore the square you started in was threatened, and therefore you provoked an AoO.

-Hyp.
 

Oh, I missed that it was 3.0. Then there is that silly "He moved out of a square I threaten, so I can't hit him unless he stops to pick up that gold piece" rule.

-Tatsu
 


Remove ads

Top