AoO when disengaging from grapple

VorpalStare said:
The PHB says you move into any square adjacent to your opponent (rather than adjacent to yourself), so this could include squares more than 5' away from you if your opponent is sufficiently large.

If you are grappling, you and your target share the same space.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, based on the PH quote that VorpalStare posted, I would rule that moving into an adjacent square as part of the 'escape from grapple' action would not provoke an AoO, but any further movement would.

To answer this question from earlier:

mostholy said:
So if you allow 5'-stepping after escaping a grapple, what is to prevent someone from always taking this option instead of doing normal movement, which would incur the AoO?

The drawback to just taking a 5' step is that you're still in range of next round's full attack, including potential grab, contrict, swallow or whatever. If you trigger an AoO, at least it's only one AoO.
 


That, however, doesn't simplify the matter at all, since the AoO would be from someone outside the grapple. ;)

Bye
Thanee
 


Patryn of Elvenshae said:
If you are grappling, you and your target share the same space.

Does that mean that you and the target of your grapple share all of the (larger creature's) spaces, or that you (assuming you're medium) share one of the spaces a larger creature occupies? The PHB just says that you must move into a target's space to maintain a grapple, but doesn't specify how the overlap is conducted. I couldn't find anything on this in the errata. Is there another reference somewhere?

It would seem very counterintuitive to me that a medium size creature that was grappled by a huge creature would be considered to occupy all of the larger creature's spaces, effectively stretching the creature beyond it's normal size (from 5'x5' to 15'x15').
 

If you provoke an AoO when moving out of a space ending a grapple, you would conversely provoke while continuing a grapple you started for the round when you move into the enemy space. Also, you would provoke an AoO when a creature with Improved Grab pulls you into their space after continuing a grapple, and if they took a -20 to maintain their threat range, they would gain an AoO on you.
 

VorpalStare said:
Does that mean that you and the target of your grapple share all of the (larger creature's) spaces, or that you (assuming you're medium) share one of the spaces a larger creature occupies?

You share all of them, in the same way that riders and mounts interact.

It's not silly, if you consider the grappling opponents to be moving around in that larger space.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
You share all of them, in the same way that riders and mounts interact.

It's not silly, if you consider the grappling opponents to be moving around in that larger space.

A good point. Of course, you can move around freely within your mount's space while mounted. Seems like another area where the DM must rule judiciously to avoid rules abuse, though.

Back onto the main subject. You could explain the lack of AOO's while escaping from a grapple as the escapee providing (soft) cover to the escaper.
 

Heh heh, I love the quantum implications of these rules! The velocity of the grappler can be calculated, but the exact location is indeterminate. :)

So, if I'm riding on my purple worm (Space of 20'), swingin' my spiked chain...I threaten 44 squares?

Or better yet, if I take a -20 on my grapple check whilst grappling with The Tarrasque, I can attack someone 30' away?

Spider
 

Remove ads

Top