AOOs and Cover

Legildur

First Post
This situation came up in a game and we were unsure how to handle it.

We know that a creature with half cover is not subject to AOOs.

What happens if a character moves through a friendly character's square and then tries to close with a creature with reach? Specifically, using the example below, does R (10ft reach) get an AOO on X (5ft reach) as he closes to melee range by passing through F? Or does X have half cover from the friendly in the same square?

R

F
X
 

log in or register to remove this ad


The AoO occurs as X leaves the threatened square. In order to leave the square, he must move out from behind F. He draws the AoO normally, and gets no benefit from cover.

If you really wanted to weasel it, I suppose you could have F ready an action to move at the same time as X, letting both retain their half-cover from being in the same square. By the strict letter of the rules, one could claim that this prevents AoO. I wouldn't allow it in my games though, since it would greatly harm the effectiveness of monsters with reach.
 

No, no, no. Not trying to weasel it, we just genuinely didn't know the answer.

I just suspected that they had half-cover as the AOO occurs before the action ever really started. But the explanations make sense.

Thanks for the responses.
 

Remove ads

Top