0-hr
Starship Cartographer
A dwarf with an axe is in melee with a bow wielding orc. The dwarf readies to attack (or step and attack) if the orc tries to shoot the bow.
The orc then takes a 5ft step away and tries to shoot his bow. This triggers the dwarf's readied action, so he steps forward and attacks the orc (missing).
1) Does the orc HAVE to finish his shooting attempt (or can he abort to "no-action")?
2) If he does have to take the shot, does it provoke and Attack of Opportunity from the dwarf (who is now adjacent, even through he wasn't when the orc announded his intention to shoot)?
Any help is much appreciated (and I'm really more interested in what's in the rules as written, as opposed to opinions).
The orc then takes a 5ft step away and tries to shoot his bow. This triggers the dwarf's readied action, so he steps forward and attacks the orc (missing).
1) Does the orc HAVE to finish his shooting attempt (or can he abort to "no-action")?
2) If he does have to take the shot, does it provoke and Attack of Opportunity from the dwarf (who is now adjacent, even through he wasn't when the orc announded his intention to shoot)?
Any help is much appreciated (and I'm really more interested in what's in the rules as written, as opposed to opinions).