Are paragon powers considered class powers?

Nikosandros

Golden Procrastinator
In this thread I argued that a paragon path power isn't considered a class power, but now I'm no longer so sure...

The Hermetic Saboteur paragon path from Arcane Power (p. 118) has powers whose text strongly implies that they are considered wizard's powers, since they explain how they interact with the Attune Target feature, a feature that affects wizard's powers.

On the other hand, if that's the case, then the problem raised by the OP in the linked thread still stands. How much damage will a barbarian inflict by using rage strike with a 20th level paragon attack power?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Well, as most 4E rules questions, the answer is pretty unsatisfying because it's not really defined and finding anything with the horrible index and lack of glossary in the PHB makes using it a pain in the butt that makes you wish for a PDF with search feature.

Anyway. The class of the power is listed on the power line. Whether or not a paragon class is considered to be of the same class as the base class isn't explicitly defined, although the fluffy description of paragon paths implies it pretty heavily.

So for raging the 2 paragon powers at 20 that have the rage keyword may or may not count for Rage Strike's requirement depending on if you consider paragon to be a subset of barbarian or a separate class. However there isn't a class requirement on which power is expended, merely that it is a rage power, so the level 20 powers could be used... In which case I'd round down to the damage a level 19 does.

Or wait for the errat... er update, which may never come.
 

Yup, they're class powers all right; PARAGON class powers. If you're wondering for purposes of a multiclass feat/power swap, then I'd say no.
 

Yup, they're class powers all right; PARAGON class powers. If you're wondering for purposes of a multiclass feat/power swap, then I'd say no.

Ryujin is correct.

Once you choose a Paragon Path the powers you gain from it from 11th thru 20th level are Paragon Path powers.
 

Ryujin is correct.

Once you choose a Paragon Path the powers you gain from it from 11th thru 20th level are Paragon Path powers.

So do you think that the Hermetic Saboteur PP is in need of errata? The description clearly implies that its powers are considered also wizard's powers.
 

So do you think that the Hermetic Saboteur PP is in need of errata? The description clearly implies that its powers are considered also wizard's powers.

"Few Rules, many exceptions", remember? I imagine that they are considered such in a rather narrow context.
 

So do you think that the Hermetic Saboteur PP is in need of errata? The description clearly implies that its powers are considered also wizard's powers.

I think RAI is that they are only "specialized" versions of the class, and still benefit from the general class they come from. It simplifies a lot of things. RAW though, yes, the Hermetic Saboteur's powers can't use it's own class abilities despite the power telling you how it works with the ability.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top