Are These Ideas A Sack of Rats?

1. A chaotic Gnome Illusionist/Necromancer (who one day hopes to have hooves) who stabs himself to use fade away.

2. A Guardian Druid (who is the party medic) who shifts around pouring potions down the throats of party members (on a regular basis).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

1. A chaotic Gnome Illusionist/Necromancer (who one day hopes to have hooves) who stabs himself to use fade away.
Kind of.

You could see it as abuse, OR, you could see it as exploiting a reflexive response.

Given the trigger is "you take damage" not "you are hit", I find the latter a reasonable explanation.

2. A Guardian Druid (who is the party medic) who shifts around pouring potions down the throats of party members (on a regular basis).
Nothing wrong with that, AFAICT, but it does count as the party member drinking the potion.
 

1. A chaotic Gnome Illusionist/Necromancer (who one day hopes to have hooves) who stabs himself to use fade away.

He's taking damage, right? As long as you don't allow him to minimize the damage (that is, he still has to roll damage), it should be fine. After all, he's spending a standard action (to attack himself) and taking damage, all to use a racial encounter power. I don't see how this could be abused effectively, so let him have it.

2. A Guardian Druid (who is the party medic) who shifts around pouring potions down the throats of party members (on a regular basis).

Once again, he's spending his actions (if I'm not mistaken, a standard action to feed a potion to a party member?) to save the party member an action. And he's expending GP in the process. I don't see how it coud be abused very easily.
 

1. There are no explicit rules on how to attack yourself. Technically, I suppose you'd have to roll to attack and roll damage. If you override that with some houserule, then yes it could be "bag o rats."

2. Isn't the pour a potion down someone's throat limited to unconcious people? If so, how could you consider this a bag o rats case?
 

I'd say that the first is definitely messing with the intent of the ability, so bag-o-rats.

Actually I would say the same of both; they're ignoring intent, in order to obtain mechanical advantages.
 

1. A chaotic Gnome Illusionist/Necromancer (who one day hopes to have hooves) who stabs himself to use fade away.
Fade Away is an Immediate action, and thus not achievable on your own turn. If the gnome can somehow arrange to stab himself on someone else's turn, without employing an Immediate action to do so, then go for it.
 

I am a bit concerned about abilities like this... In a game where noone is abusive i would rule that a gnome can also make imself invisible as a standard action on his turn. This allows a gnome to use fade away to move past a guard which fits with gnomes very well.
 

Fade Away is an Immediate action, and thus not achievable on your own turn. If the gnome can somehow arrange to stab himself on someone else's turn, without employing an Immediate action to do so, then go for it.
Hole in one. You can't use Immediate actions on your own turn.

Cheers, -- N
 

A similar situation is with the infernal pact warlocks and their Hellish Rebuke. Personally I might let the player damage himself to provoke, but he would have to actually do real damage to himself; I'd say 1d4 (perhaps cutting himself with his handy-dandy pact dagger); I might make it scale too, so at paragon level it would be 1d4+2, etc.
 

A similar situation is with the infernal pact warlocks and their Hellish Rebuke. Personally I might let the player damage himself to provoke, but he would have to actually do real damage to himself; I'd say 1d4 (perhaps cutting himself with his handy-dandy pact dagger); I might make it scale too, so at paragon level it would be 1d4+2, etc.

I'd just tell the guy to Hellish rebuke the enemy again. taking actions to stab yourself to attack an enemy is a round about way of attacking the enemy. So just do that.
 

Remove ads

Top