Are two free hands req'd for scroll use?

Hi

The subject line says it all:

During last session a fighter/wiz wanted to hold his great sword in one hand and use a scroll with the other. Does a character need two free hands to cast a spell from a scroll or can he simply hold the upper part of the scroll and read the spell off the
dangling parchment?

Does it state in the books somewhere whether such an action is
one-handed or two-handed?

Thanks

M
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I'd say it really depends, and would likely be a DM's call.

Some scrolls are flimsy paper that stays curled in an infuraiting way. Others are written on heavier material - say, skins. That wouldn't be as difficult to unwind, or even hang down while one hand was holding the top. Then there is the question of wind, of course. Two hands would help holding the thing still.

And what about getting the silly thing out of it's scroll tube or a pouch (if it is in one?)

I'll leave this one to the more experienced DM's in here though....
 

Actually YES!

In 3.5, it is hard to find, but it looks like one does need to be able to gesture and the caster specificly suffers arcane failure rate! So one hand would hold the scroll if the wizard did not have some other way [cough mage hand] and then he has to throwdown the somatics and shoutout the verbals.

I personally don't use this because I was already rough enough on fighter/mages in my game and think their options are more than limited enough already. [House rules alert: I have more spells that don’t have AFR but; Mithral very hard to obtain, no prcs, one non stacking Feat that reduces AFR 10%, otherwise core]

Spell Completion
This is the activation method for scrolls. A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All that’s left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he can’t already cast the spell, there’s a chance he’ll make a mistake. Activating a spell completion item is a standard action and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.

Activate the Spell
Activating a scroll requires reading the spell from the scroll. The character must be able to see and read the writing on the scroll. Activating a scroll spell requires no material components or focus. (The creator of the scroll provided these when scribing the scroll.) Note that some spells are effective only when cast on an item or items. In such a case, the scroll user must provide the item when activating the spell. Activating a scroll spell is subject to disruption just as casting a normally prepared spell would be. Using a scroll is like casting a spell for purposes of arcane spell failure chance.
 
Last edited:



Side question (ignore the scoll use part).

Technically how many hands free does a caster need in order to cast a spell with a somatic, material and a focus spell component?

To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any). Additionally, you must concentrate to cast a spell.

It looks like that would be 3. I personally rule that a spellcaster needs a single free hand in order to perform all three - wiht any manipulation of material or focus components as being part of the somatic ones for that spell. Pretty much anything else just doesn't seem to make sense, especially since most characters only have 2 hands to work with. :)
 


cmanos said:
usually the focus is the material component.

The very 1st spell I checked in the SRD

Hallow
Evocation [Good]
Level: Clr 5, Drd 5
Components: V, S, M, DF


Requires all the types of components. So how would that be handled, technically?
 

irdeggman said:
The very 1st spell I checked in the SRD

Hallow
Evocation [Good]
Level: Clr 5, Drd 5
Components: V, S, M, DF


Requires all the types of components. So how would that be handled, technically?

Why are most adventurers men?
 

Remove ads

Top