Are two free hands req'd for scroll use?

irdeggman said:
Although use of a focus requires it to be manipulated does it not (see above quote)? Same as material components.
Not that I can tell, although Grappling indicates that if you're grappled, you need the material component in hand. Text is below, so you can decide for yourself.
SRD said:
Somatic (S)

A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.
Material (M)

A material component is one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process. Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligible. Don’t bother to keep track of material components with negligible cost. Assume you have all you need as long as you have your spell component pouch.
Focus (F)

A focus component is a prop of some sort. Unlike a material component, a focus is not consumed when the spell is cast and can be reused. As with material components, the cost for a focus is negligible unless a price is given. Assume that focus components of negligible cost are in your spell component pouch.
Divine Focus (DF)

A divine focus component is an item of spiritual significance. The divine focus for a cleric or a paladin is a holy symbol appropriate to the character’s faith.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Zimbel16 said:
Not that I can tell, although Grappling indicates that if you're grappled, you need the material component in hand. Text is below, so you can decide for yourself.


Per the intro paragraph casting a spell requires manipulation of material and focus components.

the spefic text on those doesn't not state anything different. That is it doesn't state you don't need to manipulate the components or that you specifically require a "free hand" in order to do so. There fore the specific doesn't change the general rule. If thye had stated otherwise then they would have superceded the general, but the specific appears (and in most cases this is true) merely adds on to the general.

CHOOSING A SPELL
First you must choose which spell to cast. If you’re a cleric, druid, experienced paladin, experienced ranger, or wizard, you select from among spells prepared earlier in the day and not yet cast (see Preparing Wizard Spells and Preparing Divine Spells).
If you’re a bard or sorcerer, you can select any spell you know, provided you are capable of casting spells of that level or higher.

To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any). Additionally, you must concentrate to cast a spell.

If a spell has multiple versions, you choose which version to use when you cast it. You don’t have to prepare (or learn, in the case of a bard or sorcerer) a specific version of the spell.
Once you’ve cast a prepared spell, you can’t cast it again until you prepare it again. (If you’ve prepared multiple copies of a single spell, you can cast each copy once.) If you’re a bard or sorcerer, casting a spell counts against your daily limit for spells of that spell level, but you can cast the same spell again if you haven’t reached your limit.
 

SRD said:
To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any). Additionally, you must concentrate to cast a spell.
Good point, irdeggman. Now the only questions are:
1) Are the components done in sequence or series? In other words, does the manipulation have to occur at the same time as the somatic component, or not?
2) If not, can the manipulation occur as part of the somatic component?

I think that the spell quoted above (Hallow) would be evidence for either #1, #2, the ability to manipulate both a material component and a focus in one hand, or that Hallow is defective.

Personally, as DM, I've always gone for #2 in 3.x.
 

Zimbel16 said:
Good point, irdeggman. Now the only questions are:
1) Are the components done in sequence or series? In other words, does the manipulation have to occur at the same time as the somatic component, or not?
2) If not, can the manipulation occur as part of the somatic component?

I think that the spell quoted above (Hallow) would be evidence for either #1, #2, the ability to manipulate both a material component and a focus in one hand, or that Hallow is defective.

Personally, as DM, I've always gone for #2 in 3.x.


Which is what I said I do when I asked the question in post #7.
http://www.enworld.org/showpost.php?p=2968855&postcount=7
 

Here's one for you:

If your wizard has a good spot check, and is maybe invisible or something, or even a skulking rogue with plenty of UMD ranks, you can technically cast a spell from a scroll someone else is holding. It just says you need to be able to see and read it.

The hiding rogue can ready an action to cast a spell off an enemy's scroll right before the caster uses it against the rogue's allies. :eek:

Oh, and scrolls mave their focus and/or material components used/consumed when scribing the scroll, so you don't have to worry about any material components other than the scroll itself, and any somatic component.

In the item creation section of the SRD: Extra Costs: Any potion, scroll, or wand that stores a spell with a costly material component or an XP cost also carries a commensurate cost. For potions and scrolls, the creator must expend the material component or pay the XP cost when creating the item.

Activate the Spell: Activating a scroll requires reading the spell from the scroll. The character must be able to see and read the writing on the scroll. Activating a scroll spell requires no material components or focus. (The creator of the scroll provided these when scribing the scroll.) Note that some spells are effective only when cast on an item or items. In such a case, the scroll user must provide the item when activating the spell.
 

If you really want to be a rules nitpicker, I'd say that yes you'd need two hands to use a scroll (one to hold it, the other to provide components). However, as a DM, I'd probably only enforce this if the use of scrolls was becoming excessive/problematic.
 

Remove ads

Top