Okay, so, if I get a push effect with an area power, which direction can I push? For example, suppose I use Fire Burst ("Area burst 2 within 20 squares") and then activate my Orb of Insurmountable Force ("...you can push the target a number of squares equal to the enhancement bonus of the orb.")
The definition of Push says "each square you move [the creature] must place it farther away from you", but it doesn't make a lot of sense; I would suppose it ought to operate like a thunderstone and push away from the center of the burst, which might well be towards the caster.
Is there a rule in the book for this, or should I just houserule that push or pull from an area attack operates relative to the origin square?
The definition of Push says "each square you move [the creature] must place it farther away from you", but it doesn't make a lot of sense; I would suppose it ought to operate like a thunderstone and push away from the center of the burst, which might well be towards the caster.
Is there a rule in the book for this, or should I just houserule that push or pull from an area attack operates relative to the origin square?