Artificer Woes -Armor Enhancement

dogoftheunderworld

Adventurer
Supporter
I'm running an Eberron campaign. At 7th level, the Artificer can cast 3rd level infusions, including Greater Armor Enhancement (special ability up to +5 or 100,000GP Value). Yesterday, they encountered a Drowned (20 HD undead from MM3) -- although they did not know what it was or how powerful it was. The Artificer infused his armor with Undead Control (from the DMG), allowing the control of up to 26 HD of Undead with a DC 20 Will Save! Fortunately, my Drowned made his save (barely), or the party would be walking around with a killing machine in tow. Also, the way I read it, the Control Undead would be use activated (Standard Action) and could be attempted as many times as wanted (He tried twice on the Drowned during the encounter, before (fortunately for me) the party killed it).

Does this all sound correct from a Rules standpoint? I checked the Errata and FAQ, but did not see anything to suggest otherwise.

Thanks,

Brian
<><
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, that looks about right to me. Remember, though, that it would have only lasted 70 minutes total. The spell itself has a duration of 1 Minute / Level, so that thing would have got a new save every 7 minutes.

Also remember that the casting time on that Infusion is 1 Minute, unless he burned action points (or was it point? I can never remember) to quicker cast it.

It's powerful under the right circumstances, but normally it's not that bad.

Also, I applaud your player for his smart thinking; most players wouldn't think of adding Undead Controlling, as they're usually more fixated on Spell Resistance and the like.

-TRRW
 

theredrobedwizard said:
...Also remember that the casting time on that Infusion is 1 Minute, unless he burned action points (or was it point? I can never remember) to quicker cast it...

Yes, he spent one action point to infuse as a standard action.
 

dogoftheunderworld said:
Yes, he spent one action point to infuse as a standard action.

So he spent an action point and burned three standard actions on something that ended up having no effect on the battle.

I'm sure that while you're thinking, "Oh no, how powerful!" the player is thinking, "Well, that sucked."

Seeing as how control of the undead would have been very temporary, it doesn't seem all that powerful.
 

dogoftheunderworld said:
Yes, he spent one action point to infuse as a standard action.
Spending an action point makes the casting time 1 round, not 1 standard action.

My DM used to take great delight in disrupting my artificer's hastened infusions, making me waste not only the infusion slot, but an action point to boot. :mad:
 

Having a drowned around would probably be hurting them as much as it would be helping them anyway, the aura is non-discriminatory. (Not to mention useless in at least some of the fights in that module...)
 

Remove ads

Top