log in or register to remove this ad

 

D&D 5E "....as if you were concentrating on a spell"

doctorbadwolf

Heretic of The Seventh Circle
I don't argue that the Sage Advice version of it isn't a decent take. It is fine.

But, I also think a GM with the PHB and DMG in hands would be entirely okay to say, "No, you can't summon that thing in an anti-magic field, because it is magic." And not be outside the rules in so doing.

It is a "rulings, not rules" thing.
I’d say that DM is within the rules, but only because summoning a thing out of thin air is clearly magical.

They’d be outside the rules if they said it disappears when you enter an AMF, though. I’d have to reread the ability more closely to say if it’s properties are dampened like a normal magic item, or if they seem to be more like a dragon’s breath or flight.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

And by extension me. Its a personal attack, and I politely ask you to retract it.
The problem with lawyers is they have to be paid. Not that there is anything wrong with being paid. The problem is, some can afford to pay lawyers (the Rich) and others cannot (the Poor). This enshrines a massive injustice right at the core of the justice system.

So no, I decline to retract my attack on lawyers. The world would be a better place without them.
 

You dont deal 'damage with a weapon' when you land an unarmed strike.
No one said you did. But the damage done by an unarmed strike is the same as the damage done by a weapon. 5e D&D does not have a separate "unarmed strike damage" category. When you see that something is immune to damage from non-magical weapons, that does not mean that you can damage it by throwing your weapon away. Otherwise there would be no point in the level 6 monk ability:

Ki-Empowered Strikes

Starting at 6th level, your unarmed strikes count as magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage.

Note that this ability does not say "magical weapon" because it doesn't need to, the damage done by unarmed strikes is already the same as damage done by a weapon.
 

No one said you did. But the damage done by an unarmed strike is the same as the damage done by a weapon. 5e D&D does not have a separate "unarmed strike damage" category. When you see that something is immune to damage from non-magical weapons, that does not mean that you can damage it by throwing your weapon away. Otherwise there would be no point in the level 6 monk ability:

Ki-Empowered Strikes

Starting at 6th level, your unarmed strikes count as magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage.

Note that this ability does not say "magical weapon" because it doesn't need to, the damage done by unarmed strikes is already the same as damage done by a weapon.

No you're missing the text of Divine Smite which adds to 'the damage of your weapon'.

Unarmed strikes are not a weapon, so the two are incompatible.

Same heal with HAM feat. It only stops damage from weapons. Not (for example) B, P or S damage from falls, spells or traps or unarmed strikes.
 

The problem with lawyers is they have to be paid.
Maybe in your country, but in mine we have free Legal Aid available (of which I work in), and even paid Lawyers go out of their way to often act Pro Bono (i.e. work for free) to help people out and defend people in criminal prosecutions all the time.

How often do you devote months or even years of your life in your career working for free to help others?
 

Maybe in your country, but in mine we have free Legal Aid available (of which I work in), and even paid Lawyers go out of their way to often act Pro Bono (i.e. work for free) to help people out and defend people in criminal prosecutions all the time.
And they get the same quality legal advice as the rich people who pay for the most expensive lawyers?

I'll answer that for you: no they don't. You get what you play for.
How often do you devote months or even years of your life in your career working for free to help others?
Most of it, I'm a school teacher.
 
Last edited:

No you're missing the text of Divine Smite which adds to 'the damage of your weapon'

Unarmed strikes are not a weapon, so the two are incompatible.

Same heal with HAM feat. It only stops damage from weapons. Not (for example) B, P or S damage from falls, spells or traps or unarmed strikes.
Hair splitting. It shows the intent, but it's not a 5e rule. Accept it: WotC screwed up the text (as is perfectly normal, everyone makes mistakes) and are refusing to admit it (less pardonable, but still very common).

The wording of HAM is the same as monsters that require magical weapons to hit. The intent is not that you can hurt them with anything that is not a weapon, the intent is that the thing you are hurting them with must be magical. It's typically lawyerish textural pedantry to focus on the word "weapon" rather than the word "non-magical".
 
Last edited:





Responding from my phone, so apologies if I'm missing some things...

I could possibly see it argued that the pact blade is created via some sort of soul energy, similar to a monk's chi.

The difference being that a monk gains access to that energy through self-reflection and internal understanding; the warlock gains access to it via the patron granting access to it.

Whatever the case, if there's a method of "creating" the weapon which specified neither magic nor extradimensional space, I would say the weapon could be created but would not overcome DR.

I would further say that an already summoned weapon could be brought into the AMF but not dismissed, as access to the other dimension would be cut.

That raises some interesting questions about familiars.
 

DM Dave1

Hero
I’d say that DM is within the rules, but only because summoning a thing out of thin air is clearly magical.

They’d be outside the rules if they said it disappears when you enter an AMF, though. I’d have to reread the ability more closely to say if it’s properties are dampened like a normal magic item, or if they seem to be more like a dragon’s breath or flight.
Creatures and Objects.
A creature or object summoned or created by magic temporarily winks out of existence in the sphere. Such a creature instantly reappears once the space the creature occupied is no longer within the sphere.


Actually had this come up in a session last month. The War Domain Cleric had his Spiritual Weapon up when a beholder gazed upon the group with its Antimagic Cone. The Spiritual Weapon faded out, then popped back into existence the next round when the beholder deactivated the cone.
 

doctorbadwolf

Heretic of The Seventh Circle
Creatures and Objects.
A creature or object summoned or created by magic temporarily winks out of existence in the sphere. Such a creature instantly reappears once the space the creature occupied is no longer within the sphere.


Actually had this come up in a session last month. The War Domain Cleric had his Spiritual Weapon up when a beholder gazed upon the group with its Antimagic Cone. The Spiritual Weapon faded out, then popped back into existence the next round when the beholder deactivated the cone.
The weapon isn’t necessarily the same, though, because it’s just a sword that can be summoned that way, not one that only exists via summoning.
 

DM Dave1

Hero
The weapon isn’t necessarily the same, though, because it’s just a sword that can be summoned that way, not one that only exists via summoning.
Not how I would rule it. It's a "floating spectral weapon" based on the spell description. It only exists due to the magic of the spell, therefore is snuffed out of existence until out of the Antimagic field or cone.

EDIT: realizing you are probably referring to the pact weapon not the spiritual weapon. In that case, the way the warlock Pact of the Blade reads, I'd rule that it becomes a mundane weapon in their hand as it's "created" rather than "summoned".

EDIT2: I take that back... the pact blade WOULD wink out of existence: A creature or object summoned or created by magic temporarily winks out of existence in the sphere
The pact blade, whether created out of thin air, or from an existing magic item, is "created" hence "winks out"
 
Last edited:

Arial Black

Explorer
The basic pact weapon (i.e. NOT an actual magic weapon you bind with a ritual) is created, not summoned or plane shifted.

It's not a magical process, it's as natural to D&D worlds as dragon breath, golems or ghosts.

Therefore, in an AMF a bladepact warlock can create a pact weapon, and it bypasses damage resistance/immunity AS IF it were a magic weapon, even though it is NOT a magic weapon. The AMF does NOT take away a weapon's ability to bypass DR, it stops it being magical while in the field. Since a pact blade is not magical, it works just fine in an AMF.

BTW, just because it's possible that a writer messes up their wording, this is not an excuse to assume every ability whose wording you wish were otherwise actually is worded the way you wish!

"Oh, hi DM, I know that the writers don't say I can cast wish as a 1st level fighter, but writers DO make mistakes so the conspicuous lack of wish on my PC must therefore be a mistake!"
 

Charlaquin

Goblin Queen
The basic pact weapon (i.e. NOT an actual magic weapon you bind with a ritual) is created, not summoned or plane shifted.

It's not a magical process, it's as natural to D&D worlds as dragon breath, golems or ghosts.
Here’s the thing though. That doesn’t make a lick of sense. A dragon’s breath is a natural property of a living animal that exist in the world - no different than a fish’s ability to breathe underwater or a bombardier beetle’s ability to squirt burning chemicals out of its butt. A ghost’s etherealness is a property of the material it is made from, no different than matter existing in different states like solid, liquid, gas, or plasma. Golems are spirits bound by magic to bodies of inert matter, which makes them a bit of an edge case. But creating a pact weapon? That’s an ability humanoids don’t naturally have, granted by a powerful extraplanar being, often a god. There’s no way to explain that other than magic.
 
Last edited:

Arial Black

Explorer
Here’s the thing though. That doesn’t make a lick of sense. A dragon’s breath is a natural property of a living animal that exist in the world - no different than a fish’s ability to breathe underwater or a bombardier beetle’s ability to squirt burning chemicals out of its butt. A ghost’s etherealness is a property of the material it is made from, no different than matter existing in different states like solid, liquid, gas, or plasma. Golems are spirits bound by magic to bodies of inert matter, which makes them a bit of an edge case. But creating a pact weapon? That’s an ability humanoids don’t naturally have, granted by a powerful extraplanar being, often a god. There’s no way to explain that other than magic.
There's the same amount of sense with dragon's breath!

You can use magic to create a non-magical sword.

Warlock patrons can use their abilities-magical or not-to grant a mortal the NATURAL ability to create a pact weapon!

Just like they could grant a mortal the NATURAL ability to sprout wings and fly at will!
 

Advertisement2

Advertisement4

Top