Attacking past your ally with a reach weapon

ConnorSB said:
But, looking at what Hyp posted, if indead your whipdagger is counted as a ranged attack, then would not you suffer a -4 penalty for firing into melee, as well as the +4 cover bonus the monster gains?

In 3E, yes, since a whip is a ranged weapon.

In 3.5, no. It's a melee weapon. You're only using the Cover rules for ranged attacks.

(Well, and all the other ways a 3.5 whip is still more like a ranged weapon than a melee weapon :) But -4 for attacking into melee isn't one of them.)

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

All right, that I'll back 100%. Freaking rules quandries...

Well, at least when the DM asks you can intimidate him with your specific knowledge of multiple systems and how they pertain to multiple situations...
 

ConnorSB said:
Well, at least when the DM asks you can intimidate him with your specific knowledge of multiple systems and how they pertain to multiple situations...
Hahaha. On my character sheet it reads "Rules Intimidation +23" :p

Seriously, though, I just like to be rock-solid on rules that pertain to my character. Since my bard is focusing on a whip-dagger, I want to know all the ways that it interacts with the rules. That way I can immediately explain the core rules to my DM, then let him make a call from there, either to go with the RAW, or house rule things.
Hypersmurf said:
(Well, and all the other ways a 3.5 whip is still more like a ranged weapon than a melee weapon But -4 for attacking into melee isn't one of them.)
That's what the Lasher PrC is for. :D
 

Wow. Now I want you as one of my players. You can make a character on your own AND figure out all the rules entanglements for it! And on your own initative too! And you know when to ask for help. You're like a tripple threat!
 
Last edited:

Don't all of us that are DM's do that though? I mean, if I am trying to do something that I know the group hasn't covered before, then I try to have a handle on it before I make my DM try to understand it. That way, I don't cause the game to slow down too much.

Heck, I will reuse my rules knowledge for the game I run. I have even been known to build NPC's that use specific rules just so I can understand them. Well, that and to throw weird stuff at my players. :) Still, knowing those rules works both as a player and as a DM.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Heh. I keep trying to figure out what "FAM" stands for before reading the next line. It's not a familiar acronym :)

I'd prefer to represent the situation thus:

Code:
[color=#dddddd] -------
 |.....|
 |.....[color=#cc5555]+[/color]###
 |.[color=white][b]@[/b][/color][color=red]h[/color][color=cyan]T[/color].|
 |.....|
 -------[/color]

-Hyp.


Thanks, Hyp. That made my day.

- Kemrain the NetHack-er.
 

I'm not sure this is right, but since the Troll in the previous example isn't using a reach weapon, but his natural weapon, wouldn't F *not* receive the cover bonus?

Are monsters' natural weapons considered "reach weapons"?
 

NPC said:
I'm not sure this is right, but since the Troll in the previous example isn't using a reach weapon, but his natural weapon, wouldn't F *not* receive the cover bonus?

Are monsters' natural weapons considered "reach weapons"?
I firmly now believe that F gets the cover bonus. The troll is making a melee attack and is not adjacent to the fighter. It doesn't matter if he's using a natural melee weapon or a manufactured melee weapon.

Edit to add: And Hyp, I don't know about the Formians. I checked their SRD entry and couldn't find anything wrong. Hive Mind? Alas, I'm still but a learner.
 
Last edited:

Kemrain said:
Thanks, Hyp. That made my day.

Glad you liked it - I just find it's the easiest way to represent tactical situations so that a majority of computer-literate D&Ders will understand :)


Lord Pendragon said:
I firmly now believe that F gets the cover bonus. The troll is making a melee attack and is not adjacent to the fighter. It doesn't matter if he's using a natural melee weapon or a manufactured melee weapon.

That's right.

And Hyp, I don't know about the Formians. I checked their SRD entry and couldn't find anything wrong. Hive Mind? Alas, I'm still but a learner.

Yup, it's the Hive Mind. Read the definition of flanking one more time, and then try and figure out how you can ever get a flanking bonus against one of a group of Formians :)

-Hyp.
 

An additional question to all this. Does the cover provided when using a reach weapon to attack an opponent on the other side of an ally negate AoOs?
 

Remove ads

Top