Attacking with Chain (spiked) and Flamberge

Liquide said:
Feats
  • Level 1
    Quick Draw


  • Note that if you've got a BAB of +1 or more, you can draw the flamberge as part of a move action. Quick Draw is only required in cases where you want to get the weapon out quickly for a Full Attack action.

    So, if he's planning to move 20', then attack, Quick Draw does nothing, as he cannot take the Full Attack action.

    (Edit: oh, and by the way, this thread really ought to be in the Rules Forum)
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

ShadowMaster said:
So, according to what has just been said. I can do a free action, 2 moves action and still be able to attack in the same round? IS that true? or is "move and draw flamberge" part of the same move equivalent action?

Yes to the last question. If you have a base attack bonus of at least +1, you can draw your weapon while you move, and it counts as a single move-equivalent action.
 

Ok here is the problem I see with this.

Bear in mind that I'm trying to use real world concepts here, not game mechanics or fantasy concepts.

I have actually held a flamberge in my hands, I have an idea of what it's like, and I'm 6' foot even.

I've also swung a chain, but not the length of the spiked chain in the books.

A two handed flamberge would be carried not sheathed, if one wanted to use it. If you strapped it to your back as it was common used, you couldn't draw it. Chances are, you were moving from one place to another, so once you got to where you were going, you took it off. This wouldn't be problem with Landshknet's as they usually knew exactly when they would need them. And it would be in an open field combat.

So let's say you are carrying the sword in your off hand, chances are to give that hand support, the flat of the blade is resting on your shoulder.

Even if you are very tall, chances are that close to half the blade is going to extend upward past your head. (it might perpendicular to your head, but you get the idea.

To get the chain to damage, you need to get it up to speed. I thought that a spiked chain needed to be used two handed, but maybe I'm wrong. Even still, just using it one handed would imply that you would need to be able to swing it over your head without anything blocking it.

Trying to get the chain over the blade of the sword would be extremely awkward. In my opinion, I wouldn't allow for this.
 

jgbrowning said:
i was always under the impression that the spiked chain is a two handed weapon that had a circle of iron thats attached near your mid section and two chains coming off of that. You'd use both your hands (one each) on each chain.

this of couse doesn't make much sense, but at least i seem to remember it being drawn that way?

anyone help me out here?

joe b.

Yep that's about hwo I see it.

The evercrack rpg has a new picture of thier versionof the spiked chain. Bacisicaly a somewaht spickey chain, but it appears it's primary weapon is along daggerish spike at the end of the chain, making it more like an improved rope dart, or kasura gami(with spike instead of sickle). You would still need two hands since it is large but the weapon doesn't look double weaponish, and more like IMO it should be.
 

If you have a base attack bonus of at least +1, you can draw your weapon while you move, and it counts as a single move-equivalent action.

Please tell me, where does that rule come from? I think I bought too much books for my little brain:D .
 

ShadowMaster said:


Please tell me, where does that rule come from? I think I bought too much books for my little brain:D .

Actually that rule doesn't exist, the above statement requires two move-equalent actions in any case. If you had Quick Draw you can draw your weapon as a free action (also when performing a full attack) in this case before the move or after but not during.
 


Remove ads

Top