Bandoleer a free action or ME?

Kershek

Sci-Fi Newshound
Bandoleer from the FRCS says it can hold several flask-like items. It doesn't state whether it takes a free action or ME to remove a flask of acid, for instance. The Potion Belt specifically states that it's a free action to remove potions.

I would assume, then, that it takes a ME action to remove a flask from a bandoleer, correct? That seems like a long time. Does it seem unbalanced to allow it as a free action?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Kershek said:
I would assume, then, that it takes a ME action to remove a flask from a bandoleer, correct?

As written, I'd say yup.

Kershek said:
Does it seem unbalanced to allow it as a free action?

Well, to begin with, its only half the cost of a potion belt, so it should be at least worth that much. But, would it bother you knowing that for 1gp and 5sp someone could retrieve 8 items and 6 potions as a free action? It might not bother me. Not sure though. Need to think about that one.
 

Re: Re: Bandoleer a free action or ME?

kreynolds said:

Well, to begin with, its only half the cost of a potion belt, so it should be at least worth that much. But, would it bother you knowing that for 1gp and 5sp someone could retrieve 8 items and 6 potions as a free action? It might not bother me. Not sure though. Need to think about that one.

A DM can limit free actions based on what's viable, and it mentions that in the books. For instance, I would rule that you could only grab one potion per hand as a free action.

However, I'm looking for opinions, if it hasn't been clarified in sage advice, so our group can make our own ruling. Please refer to a custom magic item, a bazooka like item, in the House Rules that I just posted that explains why I'm asking this question.
 

Re: Re: Re: Bandoleer a free action or ME?

Kershek said:
A DM can limit free actions based on what's viable, and it mentions that in the books. For instance, I would rule that you could only grab one potion per hand as a free action.

You could rule that, yes. However, keep this in mind; You can draw as many daggers as you like using Quick Draw and a full-attack action. A bandolier would let you do just that if you rule that you can draw items from it as a free action. Don't get me wrong, but I don't think this is a problem. I'm just saying it should cost at least as much as a potion belt if you rule that way.

Kershek said:
However, I'm looking for opinions, if it hasn't been clarified in sage advice, so our group can make our own ruling.

That's my opinion. Mostly it's about the price of the bandolier.
 

There's a big diff between that mea and free action. I personally won't let anything less than a feat or magic make potion grapping free.

Hey Kreynolds, what happened to the pimp?
 
Last edited:




Remove ads

Top