Bladesinger questions

but doesn't say anything about increasing his number of opportunity actions, thus it's still only one per round.
Just wanted to specifically point out with the poster above me that you get 1 OA per opponent's TURN, not 1 OA per ROUND. You get 1 Immediate action per Round.

-O
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Just wanted to specifically point out with the poster above me that you get 1 OA per opponent's TURN, not 1 OA per ROUND. You get 1 Immediate action per Round.
It's important to make this distinction. This is a major change from 3E, where you got one AoO per round, unless you picked up Combat Reflexes.

I know it took me some time to get around the distinction between "turn" and "round" in 4E.
 

Yep, it can be a little confusing.

Okay, now that I think I'm fairly clear on this (and won't try to speak for anyone else - lol), lets take it a step further and see what everyone's opinion is on this:

Bladesinger, has Bladesong up, and Steely Retort is available. An opponent moves up and hits him - the Bladesinger gets the MBA in return, as an Opportunity Action because of Steely Retort. The power that the opponent hit the Bladesinger with, is actually a double attack, with 2 real attack rolls. Now, here is the question - since it is an OA, does the Bladesinger get an MBA on the *2nd* attack? (this is assuming he didn't kill the opponent off the first MBA or something like that). The general rule of course, is that the Bladesinger gets -1- OA on the opponents turn, and no more, this is vs the specific wording of Steely Retort that says "when".

Now, I personally think the Bladesinger would get one OA(mba) off the first attack but not the 2nd. I just wanted to see everyone else's opinion.

Finally, for everyone who does think it would be one single attack, would it change your opinion if Steely Retort stated "Whenever" instead of "When"?

Thanks all - lots of useful information and discussion here, as always, and I appreciate it. :)
 

Only against the first attack, Steely Retort doesn't allow you to take extra opportunity actions per turn, just allows you to make a mba as one when hit by someone adjacent.
 

Okay, I think that's pretty settled and the majority by far agrees.

Now, lets add 2 slightly different scenarios and see how it works.

Scenario 1:
An opponent hits the Bladesinger who has Bladesong and Steely Retort up. The Bladesinger gets an MBA as an OA. Now, that opponents turn ends. Another opponent now grants the first attacker a free action MBA against the Bladesinger, and hits. Does the Bladesinger get another MBA/OA against the same attacker who had hit him a turn before?

Scenario 2:
An opponent hits the Bladesinger who has Bladesong and Steely Retort up.
This opponent is wicked. He actually gets 3 initiative rolls and acts 3 times during every round. He hits the Bladesinger all 3 times during the round. Does the Bladesinger get an MBA/OA against each attack?

Thanks for the input gang.
 

Scenario 1:
An opponent hits the Bladesinger who has Bladesong and Steely Retort up. The Bladesinger gets an MBA as an OA. Now, that opponents turn ends. Another opponent now grants the first attacker a free action MBA against the Bladesinger, and hits. Does the Bladesinger get another MBA/OA against the same attacker who had hit him a turn before?
Yep. It's a new turn, so you get one OA. Don't overthink it. :)

Scenario 2:
An opponent hits the Bladesinger who has Bladesong and Steely Retort up.
This opponent is wicked. He actually gets 3 initiative rolls and acts 3 times during every round. He hits the Bladesinger all 3 times during the round. Does the Bladesinger get an MBA/OA against each attack?

Thanks for the input gang.
Yep. It's a new turn, so you get one OA. Don't overthink it. :)

-O
 

Scenario 3: A Leader-type enemy grants attacks to two monsters adjacent to the Bladesinger. Both monsters hit the Bladesinger, who has Bladesong active. Does the Bladesinger get to make an OA against both monsters?

Answer: No. He can make an attack against the first hit or against the second hit. He cannot make OAs for both hits, as he gets only one per turn. Hint: if one is a minion or is simply near death, target that one, as the OA will then negate the damage roll (or static damage in the case of a minion) if it kills the attacker.
 

Scenario 3: A Leader-type enemy grants attacks to two monsters adjacent to the Bladesinger. Both monsters hit the Bladesinger, who has Bladesong active. Does the Bladesinger get to make an OA against both monsters?

Answer: No. He can make an attack against the first hit or against the second hit. He cannot make OAs for both hits, as he gets only one per turn. Hint: if one is a minion or is simply near death, target that one, as the OA will then negate the damage roll (or static damage in the case of a minion) if it kills the attacker.

Okay, I was good until this scenario. :)

I don't understand why he wouldn't get one OA against each attacker. OA's are limited to once each attacker, and each attacker is being granted a turn here.

The OA doesn't come from the Leader, it comes from each of the 2 opponents attacks, thus its 2 separate ones.

Please help me understand this, thanks.
 

The catch is, all of that is happening on the leader's turn. The leader grants ACTIONS, not TURNS. Since it's all happening on that one turn, the bladesinger gets only one OA.

To echo Obryn, just ask yourself if you've moved to a new initiative step. If you haven't, no new OA. If yes, you can.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top