Iron_Chef
First Post
Source: Monte Cook's Book of Eldritch Might 1
Freezing Claw
Conjuration [Cold]
Level: Sor/Wiz 6
Components: V, S, M
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Close (25 ft. + 5 ft./level)
Effect: A small claw of ice
Duration: 1 round/level
Saving Throw: Fortitude partial
Spell Resistance: Yes
You create a 2 ft. diameter icew-blue claw that floats in the air. You direct it to move anywhere within range, making one ranged touch attack each round with your attack bonus. Those touched by the claw suffer 3d6 points of cold damage and must make a Fortitude save. Failing the save freezes the victim solid. Frozen creatures remain alive but cannot take actions. They stay frozen until they suffer 20 points of fire damage, after which point they are free (but sustain the 20 points of fire damage). If the claw suffers 10 points of fire damage, the spell ends (the claw has an AC of 12).
Okay, is it just me or this spell hideously vague as to its possible repercussions? Freezing Claw has the potential to freeze a target creature solid, and they remain frozen until they take 20hp of fire damage, so what happens if they never take fire damage? They're an ice sculpture forever?
Can you keep damaging them (with non-fire damage) after they are frozen so they can't fight back and just die like wimps?
Is this spell broken, or just poorly described as to its possible ramifications should a target be frozen solid?
I have an 11th level wiz/conjurer who would force a target to make a Fort save @ DC 28 with this spell, making it pretty much an instant death sentence if they blow their save.
________________________________________
Searching for an answer at http://www.montecook.com turned up the following clarifications from Monte himself:
1) The claw, if not directed otherwise, continues attacking the original target of the spell for its duration, and
2) the only way for the frozen creature to escape without taking 20 points of fire damage is to "thaw out", but this is based on the surrounding environment/temperature and is not explained.
I can't get ezboards to work so I can't post on monte's site. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________________________________
PS: We already had to house rule Monte's "Bolt Of Conjuring" 3rd level Sor/Wiz spell from BoEM1, because it did 1d4 damage/level (10d4 max) with no save and no spell resistance while simulataneously attacking the target with a creature from the summon monster I list. We changed it to allow a Reflex save for half and the target got to use its spell resistance vs. the bolt, but the summoned monster still appeared and attacked even if the creature took no damage due to its SR.
Freezing Claw
Conjuration [Cold]
Level: Sor/Wiz 6
Components: V, S, M
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Close (25 ft. + 5 ft./level)
Effect: A small claw of ice
Duration: 1 round/level
Saving Throw: Fortitude partial
Spell Resistance: Yes
You create a 2 ft. diameter icew-blue claw that floats in the air. You direct it to move anywhere within range, making one ranged touch attack each round with your attack bonus. Those touched by the claw suffer 3d6 points of cold damage and must make a Fortitude save. Failing the save freezes the victim solid. Frozen creatures remain alive but cannot take actions. They stay frozen until they suffer 20 points of fire damage, after which point they are free (but sustain the 20 points of fire damage). If the claw suffers 10 points of fire damage, the spell ends (the claw has an AC of 12).
Okay, is it just me or this spell hideously vague as to its possible repercussions? Freezing Claw has the potential to freeze a target creature solid, and they remain frozen until they take 20hp of fire damage, so what happens if they never take fire damage? They're an ice sculpture forever?
Can you keep damaging them (with non-fire damage) after they are frozen so they can't fight back and just die like wimps?
Is this spell broken, or just poorly described as to its possible ramifications should a target be frozen solid?
I have an 11th level wiz/conjurer who would force a target to make a Fort save @ DC 28 with this spell, making it pretty much an instant death sentence if they blow their save.
________________________________________
Searching for an answer at http://www.montecook.com turned up the following clarifications from Monte himself:
1) The claw, if not directed otherwise, continues attacking the original target of the spell for its duration, and
2) the only way for the frozen creature to escape without taking 20 points of fire damage is to "thaw out", but this is based on the surrounding environment/temperature and is not explained.
I can't get ezboards to work so I can't post on monte's site. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________________________________
PS: We already had to house rule Monte's "Bolt Of Conjuring" 3rd level Sor/Wiz spell from BoEM1, because it did 1d4 damage/level (10d4 max) with no save and no spell resistance while simulataneously attacking the target with a creature from the summon monster I list. We changed it to allow a Reflex save for half and the target got to use its spell resistance vs. the bolt, but the summoned monster still appeared and attacked even if the creature took no damage due to its SR.
Last edited: