Boots of Skating (EPH) at will?

Shin Okada

Explorer
This Item says "These boots allow the wearer to slide along the ground at will as if using the skate power." Does that mean?

1. The wearer can use the effect of skate at will. Each time, the wearer must activate the boots. As there is no activation method written, it is "command thought" item (a standard action). And each time, the duration is 1 min (assuming that manifester level is 1).

2. It is a use-activated always-on item.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



I'm thinking of something like the Robe of blending. My reading of the rules says that you can change your appearance, and then, it'll be maintained until you decide to drop that disguise. Not that it'll drop once the duration expires until you reactivate it yourself.

But I could be reading it wrongly.
 


Evilhalfling said:
think of it as the psi equivenlent of Boots of striding and Springing - do those need to be turned on?

But it says "These boots increase the wearer's base land speed by 10 feet." The way of description is very different.

Also, Boots of S&S is now based on a spell which has hour/level duration. But Skate is a power with duration of minutes/level. So I am not sure if it is reasonable to understand it as an always on item. Ring of Invisibility is not an always on item.
 

XPH pg 158, under "Use-Activated"
Boots of Skating are specifically described as "practically always functioning"
also, activating a non-continous item is a free-action unless the item description states otherwise.
 

Felnar said:
XPH pg 158, under "Use-Activated"
Boots of Skating are specifically described as "practically always functioning"
also, activating a non-continous item is a free-action unless the item description states otherwise.

Oh thanks. So the Boots of Skating is a use-activated always continually fanctioning item. It is annoying that the statement is not in the item's description.

But in regards of the latter part, isn't it a standard action by default? When activating method is not written, a psionic item is assumed to be a command thought item. And that activation method is a standard action unless otherwise noted.
 

Shin Okada said:
But in regards of the latter part, isn't it a standard action by default? When activating method is not written, a psionic item is assumed to be a command thought item. And that activation method is a standard action unless otherwise noted.
to paraphrase, the XPH section on Use-Activated items says: if they require an action to activate, it is a free action, unless the items description says otherwise
 

Felnar said:
to paraphrase, the XPH section on Use-Activated items says: if they require an action to activate, it is a free action, unless the items description says otherwise

I see. So if the item is a use-activated one, it is either an always-on item or requires only a free-action to activate.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top