KarinsDad said:
So, because I disagree with your assessment, you no longer have respect for me?
For calling me a hypocrite when I am not, I have less respect.
Yes, but he is choosing to ignore it since there is a different rule in the book that supports his position.
You are choosing to ignore it since your DM changed the intent of the rule.
I don't believe that there is a rule that truly supports his position. The damage from a natural weapon counts as a weapon only for effects that increase weapon damage. The GMW spells does a lot more than increase wepon damage. Should it only increase the damage of the fists, but not the attack bonus, since they don't count as weapons for other types of effects?
Also, the PHB seems to use "weapon" to mean "manufactured weapon" and "natural weapon" to mean "natural weapon." This is consistent throughout the entire PHB.
The GMW spell specifically targets a weapon or projectile, not a creature. If you read the spell description, it makes no reference to natural weapons, and seems to only consider manufactured weapons. To be consistent with the rest of the PHB, the term weapon would only indicate manufactured weapons. Why would this one spell be inconsistent with the usage of the term in the rest of the PHB?
But my pain point is that he
said that he agreed that the spell is intended to only affect manufactured weapons and not natural weapons! He knows this, and has chosen to ignore it. He doesn't disagree with the spell, he doesn't think it should be interpreted differently, he just wants to ignore it due to a loophole. If I'm the DM, that would never fly.
In my case, the rule in my game has been changed. I'm not ignoring it, I'm playing it as it is intended to work in the campaign. There is no way you can construe hypocrisy when I am playing it exactly as it is intended to work in the campaign. The entire arguement is specious.
In either case, the original intent of the rule is being ignored, it is merely a slightly different rationalization as to why that is ok that is different here. In his case, because there is a different rule that allows it. In your case, because there is a FAQ rule that allows it.
No. In one case the intent of the rule is being willfully ignored, even though you acknowledge and agree with the intent. I find that reprehensible and will not do that.
In the other, the rule has been clearly and unambigously changed/re-interpeted by the campaign DM, as is their prerogative. As a player, I agree to play by the campaign rules, and will use their ruling even if I would rule it differently in a home game. This goes for things that hurt my character as well as help him. I'm not a martyr, and I'm not stupid. If they say it has to work a certain way, and it helps my character, I will use it if it is reasonable for him to do so. I will not apologize for that or allow myself to manipulated into thinking it is somehow wrong.
In either case, the player can choose to ignore the "house rule" in favor of the original intent.
No. If the first case were indeed a "house rule" as determined by the DM, then I would have no problem with it. It is the fact that they have said they understand the intent, but are going to ignore it until the authors word it better. To me, that is the worst type of ruleslawyering.
In his case, by not casting the spell on natural weapons. In your case, you can choose to not cast scrolls in armor. Instead, you choose to take the moral low ground since your character benefits from casting scrolls in armor.
Bull




. I did not take the moral low-ground. I'm playing the game as it was intended, as it was very clearly spelled out by the campaign DM's.
The core rules are overriden by the D&D FAQ in Living Greyhawk. I don't know how to make it any more clear. The rule you claim I'm ignoring simply does not exist in LG. It's like saying that I'm taking the moral low ground for ignoring the rules of american football while playing rugby.
I did everything I could to get them to change their ruling, but they stuck with it. Thus I can use it in good conscience, because I am not trying to twist the meaning of the rule or use a loophole.
You cannot claim to support intent of rules, call someone else out ignoring intent of rules, and then ignore intent of rules yourself when the opportunity presents itself and appear to be taking the moral high ground at the same time. The dichotomy is there whether you agree with it or not.
There is no dichotomy. I am not trying to use a vaguely worded section of the rules to ignore the intent of the author, which is
exactly what Aggemam is doing. He stated in no uncertain terms that agreed that this was the intent, but until they errata it, he was going to ignore the intent and have it work the opposite of their intent. To me, that is just wrong, on a level that has nothing to do with gaming or rules interpretations.
If he had instead said: "I know what the intent is, but I disagree with it, and am house ruling it so that it works differently in my campaign.", I would disagree with the ruling, but would not have any problem with him running it that way in his campaign, because it is a DM's prerogative to adjust the rules to fit his campaign world. If I played a character in his campaign I would use his ruling without any qualms.
Or he could have said "I disagree that this was the intent of the authors, and am using this interpretation." I would disagree, and might debate the issue with him, but would not feel that he was doing anything inherently wrong (other than ruling it incorrectly

). If I was a player in his game, I would use his ruling if he did not agree to change it, as it is his game and his rules. If I felt strongly enough about the ruling I might choose not to play in his game. In LG I do not feel strongly enough about the ruling to stop playing (although it's getting close with some of the other stuff that is happening in that campaign).
In my case, there is no vaguely worded section, as it has been fully clarified by the campaign DM's and the Sage. That is the way it works in Living Greyhawk, and there is no question that it is the way it is intended to work in Living Greyhawk. None. Therefore there is no moral or ethical reason not to the use the ruling.
You just happened to get called out on a case of the pot calling the kettle black, regardless of you not seeing it that way.
I feel that people have tried to create a superficial parrallel between the two situations that falls apart upon close inspection.
I will not apologize for expressing my views on how some have chosen to handle this spell, as I did express them honestly, if not precisely enough or diplomatically enough for some people.
I will apologize for anything I said that could have be seen as a personal attack on KD. It was said in the heat of the moment and I regret it.