Breath Weapon recharging

Gansk

Explorer
If a dragon breathes and the roll to determine when it breathes again always comes up a '1', does the dragon breathe every round or every other round?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



I also read it as "1" means "every round." The language in the MM says that it cannot breathe again until 1d4 rounds later. If you replace the "1d4" with "1," it says the dragon cannot breath again until 1 round later, which is the very next round.
 

Durational effects in D&D are almost always assumed to end just prior to the turn. A spell with a duration of one round ends just before your next initiative. It makes sense to me that a dragon whose breath weapon is unusable for one round would follow the same rule, and recharge just prior to the dragon's next initiative.
 

James McMurray said:
Durational effects in D&D are almost always assumed to end just prior to the turn. A spell with a duration of one round ends just before your next initiative. It makes sense to me that a dragon whose breath weapon is unusable for one round would follow the same rule, and recharge just prior to the dragon's next initiative.

So James, your vote is also every round in this hypothetical scenario?
 




Remove ads

Top