• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Building a Better Shugenja

Morrow

First Post
I'm putting together an Oriental Adventures style one-(or two) shot using pregenerated characters. I'm considering making the shugenja one of the pregens. This is my first time really looking at this class (the Complete Divine version) and I'm having trouble. So their elemental focus gives them an increase to their save DCs with their chosen school. Only fire seems to have a significant number of spells that require a save. The shugenja doesn't have so many great abilities that it seems worthwhile to pick water, earth, or air and just accept that the element focus isn't going to help you much. However, focusing on fire means giving up on water, which includes all the healing type spells. A four person party doesn't really have room for two divine casters (a fire shugenja plus another divine caster who can actually heal).

I've done some searching on this board and Wizards and the general consensus seems to be that the shugenja isn't worth it. Are there any exceptions out there? Has anyone played a fun and useful shugenja?

shilsen

Adventurer