Burst and critical hits

simen

Explorer
Hello! Say a burst power like the wizards "Scorching Burst" targets 3 targets. The first target you miss, the second you hit, and the third you make a critical hit on. How to deal damage to the two creatures that you hit? Does both get maximum damage? Or do they get seperate damage? You roll the damage for number two and max damage for number three?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You only do max damage to the creature you rolled a crit on. For Close and Area attacks you only roll damage once. If you crit on one of the attacks then that creature takes max damage, but everyone else you hit takes the amount that you rolled. If the power you are using does half damage then the creatures you miss take half the damage you rolled.
 

Hello! Say a burst power like the wizards "Scorching Burst" targets 3 targets. The first target you miss, the second you hit, and the third you make a critical hit on. How to deal damage to the two creatures that you hit? Does both get maximum damage? Or do they get seperate damage? You roll the damage for number two and max damage for number three?

The general rule is you roll damage once.

The only hit that needs rolled damage, is as you said, number two.

Number three takes max.

Number one you miss, you miss, so unless there is a miss entry, no damage.
 

I think it's funny to picture a couple goblins getting blasted..one gets hit for minimum damage, the other gets a critical hit. Obviously one of the goblins used the other as cover.
 

Also, if you're using a power like Blinding Barrage, you decide where the Sneak Attack damage goes -after- seeing what you hit/crit, etc. So, in this instance, you might decide to assign the SA damage to the crit goblin for maximum damage (The SA damage would also be maxed), or if you thought that the crit would kill it, you might assign it to the goblin you hit as to start its spiral towards death.
 

Enchanted Trinkets Complete

Recent & Upcoming Releases

Remove ads

Top