Many monk attacks are "melee touch," which if I understand correctly means you can attack anyone within the limits of your reach. Assuming a medium creature and an unarmed strike, that reach is going to be 1 square most of the time.
But, the rules for monks clearly contemplate that they can use weapons as part of their monk attacks, even if the powers are not "weapon" attacks per se. In the PHB 3, on page 64, there is a sidebar on "Monks and Weapons," which says that "All your monk attacks can involve use of a weapon, whether it's your monk unarmed strike or a manufactured object." Plus, under the Implements discussion for monks, it says that you can use weapons as implements--you just don't get the benefit of the weapon's "properties," like high crit.
So what about reach? Can I have a monk with a reach weapon and then use that weapon to deliver melee touch attacks within 2 squares?
But, the rules for monks clearly contemplate that they can use weapons as part of their monk attacks, even if the powers are not "weapon" attacks per se. In the PHB 3, on page 64, there is a sidebar on "Monks and Weapons," which says that "All your monk attacks can involve use of a weapon, whether it's your monk unarmed strike or a manufactured object." Plus, under the Implements discussion for monks, it says that you can use weapons as implements--you just don't get the benefit of the weapon's "properties," like high crit.
So what about reach? Can I have a monk with a reach weapon and then use that weapon to deliver melee touch attacks within 2 squares?