Can teleport break a grapple?

Hawkshere

First Post
This is related to another thread I started, but it's an important enough point of order to merit an explicit rules question:

Can successfully casting/activating a teleport effect (dimension door, etc.) allow the caster to forcibly break a grapple? It is understood that the caster cannot force a grappled enemy through the teleport (targets touched must be willing), but is the reverse true?

Either the grappling enemy can choose to joyride against your will, or you (as the caster) always have control over extra baggage, no matter how willing.

Does the "up to" language in the weight limitation rules mean that the caster can specifiy for less than the maximum weight to be transported, and thus force grappled opponents to be left behind?

I'd be interested in knowing if this question was treated in a Sage answer or FAQ.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Teleport (and dim door) have as targets "self plus willing creatures ... touched". Targeting a touch spell generally requires a conscious effort on the part of the caster; it isn't enough to have the other guy touch you, you have to touch him. Thus if you have a harm spell in hand, a dragon could chomp you but it doesn't discharge the spell. The same goes for teleport: just because someone is grappling you doesn't mean they can go with you, you have to take them.
 

How can dim door break a grapple??? I was thinking that you have to go through the dim. door to use it. And I don't think that you can go through it, if you are in a grapple!
 

Tomiro said:
How can dim door break a grapple??? I was thinking that you have to go through the dim. door to use it. And I don't think that you can go through it, if you are in a grapple!

Because there's no actual door that you're going through. Check the spell description. The spell simply transports you from your current position to the place that you choose, hence it can get you out of a grapple.
 

Is dimension door even a "door"? Isn't it just a metaphor? Just like Melf's acid arrow... You don't shoot a real arrow, only an arrow-like acid blob... I mean, you don't deal any piercing damage with it, only acid damage.

- Cyraneth
 

The question is HOW is he casting it. They give rules for casting spells, but not for activating a wonderous item, like a Helm of Teleportation....
 

Mordeth said:
The question is HOW is he casting it. They give rules for casting spells, but not for activating a wonderous item, like a Helm of Teleportation....
Don't dimension door and teleport only have a verbal component? Shouldn't be too hard to do, then...
 

In previous editions, dimension door was an actual door that you stepped through. It was changed in 3rd ed for balance reasons, but the name was retained.
 

I agree that a successfully cast dimension door will get you out of a grapple.

One (related) question: Without hijacking this thread, what if the grappled spellcaster is attempting to use dimension door via a wand that his/she has in hand...
(1) Is it possible to use a wand (of dimension door) when grappled?
(2) Is so, using this wand would draw no attack of opportunity & require no concentration check, correct?

:D I was hoping to use the glove-of-storing-wand-of-dimension-door combo as the BBEG's escape hatch when he is next confronted by my party of grapple-happy PCs.
 

Remove ads

Top