Can you coup de grace with an Inflict Wounds spell?

Status
Not open for further replies.
the Jester said:
Egres- your reading of the definition of coup de grace seems to imply that you can't cdg with a natural weapon. Is this your position?
Yes.

I'm simply applying the RAW.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Nowhere I did state something like that.

Is your question somewhat useful?

I'm asking cause I can't see how it could be so.

Dude, that's a pretty snippy response.

While the past few posts have been hung up on the melee weapon part, the ranged weapons have been totally ignored. A weapon-like spell doesn't have to be a melee weapon in order to be used in a CDG, because we have other options for the CDG.

It seems to me that if a weapon-like spell is sufficiently similar to a melee weapon or a bow or crossbow (i.e. a ranged weapon that can be fairly accurately aimed, as opposed to a sling bullet), then perhaps it can be used for a CDG.

If I was making a ruling on this one, I'd probably say that a weapon-like spell could be used in a CDG because it is sufficiently similar to the list of weapons allowed.
 

Egres said:
Yes.

I'm simply applying the RAW.
So a natural weapon isn't a melee weapon? Is it an unarmed attack instead? If neither, what kind of standard action do you take to attack with a natural weapon? By your view, it can't be done.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
So a natural weapon isn't a melee weapon? Is it an unarmed attack instead?
It's an unarmed attack, like the PHB states.

What's your problem with it?

atom crash said:
It seems to me that if a weapon-like spell is sufficiently similar to a melee weapon or a bow or crossbow (i.e. a ranged weapon that can be fairly accurately aimed, as opposed to a sling bullet), then perhaps it can be used for a CDG.
Nope.

If you don't have a bow or crossbow you can't make a ranged CdG.

HR it if you like.
 


Infiniti2000 said:
Nice snippy response. Let go your anger, Egres. :)
Maybe it sounded snippy, but it wasn't my intention.:)

Note to self: avoid to imitate the way some people reply on other boards you know.

It would seem that they sound rude.
 

atom crash said:
If I was making a ruling on this one, I'd probably say that a weapon-like spell could be used in a CDG because it is sufficiently similar to the list of weapons allowed.

Although, generally speaking, you can't used a ranged weapon-like spell in a CDG.

The reason you can use a melee weapon-like spell in a CDG is because you can hold the charge until your next round, and the perform the full-round action.

You can't hold the charge on most (if not all) ranged weapon-like spells.
 

Egres said:
Maybe it sounded snippy, but it wasn't my intention.:)

Yeah, actually, most of your posts in this thread sound pretty snippy.

I thought I remembered you being "not from around here," so I was taking them with a grain of salt. :)
 

Egres said:
Yes.

I'm simply applying the RAW.

Hmmm...

Just curious, what's your position on flame blade? Would that constitute a melee weapon?

PHB said:
...a handheld weapon designed for close combat.

This one is tricky, because, according to the spell description:

PHB said:
You wield this bladelike beam as if it were a scimitar.

Certainly, a scimitar is a melee weapon by any definition; does the above line indicate sufficient similarity to allow a coup de grace with it (by your definition)?

Though my judgement on this issue is different than yours, I certainly agree that a strict enough reading of the rules supports your position- I'm not trying to be provocative, just to elicit your opinion on this. :)

By the way, folks, this discussion is prewtty interesting- let's try to keep it civil in order to keep it from getting closed! ;)
 


Status
Not open for further replies.
Remove ads

Top