Can you hold a THW with one hand in combat?

Stalker0

Legend
Let's say a monk disarms a greatsword. He now possesses the greatsword. He doesn't want to give the greatsword back of course, but he'd like to keep fighting. Can he simply hold the greatsword in one hand, while mantaining the attack?

Actually I guess that brings up another argument that I know has gone around here a time or two, can a monk keep fighting with both her arms occupied.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Stalker0 said:
Actually I guess that brings up another argument that I know has gone around here a time or two, can a monk keep fighting with both her arms occupied.

That's a fairly short argument :)

A monk’s attacks may be with either fist interchangeably or even from elbows, knees, and feet. This means that a monk may even make unarmed strikes with her hands full.

As far as the greatsword goes - he can hold it in one hand, he just can't use it in one hand.

It's how a wizard with a staff casts spells.

-Hyp.
 

Okay makes sense. Now what would happen if a person tried to disarm that weapon?

Would it count as a one handed weapon or an object?
 

Stalker0 said:
Okay makes sense. Now what would happen if a person tried to disarm that weapon?

Would it count as a one handed weapon or an object?

If the monk is holding it in two hands, they get the +4 against disarm. If they are holding it in one hand, they do not.
 

Stalker0 said:
Okay makes sense. Now what would happen if a person tried to disarm that weapon?

Would it count as a one handed weapon or an object?
I would say definitely as an object; it is not being utilized as a melee weapon, so as far as the Disarm mechanics are concerned, it isn't a melee weapon.
 

Peter Gibbons said:
I would say definitely as an object; it is not being utilized as a melee weapon, so as far as the Disarm mechanics are concerned, it isn't a melee weapon.

Any weapon you hold can be wielded, if it is the correct size. You just take a penalty if you're not proficient. Since the monk could attack, but at a -4, then it is still counted as a weapon.
 

reveal said:
Any weapon you hold can be wielded, if it is the correct size. You just take a penalty if you're not proficient. Since the monk could attack, but at a -4, then it is still counted as a weapon.

but the monk can't weild it because he is holding it in one hand.

Also, if the monk has no intention of weilding it and is simply holding it so it to keep it away from the original weilder, I would say the object rules apply more.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top