Can you ready a move action?

Gansk

Explorer
Scenario 1: Archer A is firing at Opponent O. It is O's turn.

O says "I ready an action". Condition: A fires an arrow. Action: "I move to another square."

This doesn't make sense to me from a realism standpoint, but is there an argument against it using the RAW?

Scenario 2: Spellcaster S is next Opponent O, who has a silence spell cast on him.

O says "I ready an action". Condition: S moves. Action: "I follow him."

Is this legal?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes it is legal. Following as a ready action is also pretty reasonable in that specific case, you just stick close. In the first case, it won't help at all, unless you gain cover or better total concealment, the archer can still shoot at you. The square doesn't really matter, you cannot step aside while the arrow is in the air or something like that. ;)

You can, however, quite effectively dodge melee attacks, that way, tho might incur an attack of opportunity as a compensation.

Anyways, using ready actions to dodge attacks is not really what the ready action is meant for, of course, but following someone is completely acceptable IMHO.

Bye
Thanee
 

Thanee said:
Anyways, using ready actions to dodge attacks is not really what the ready action is meant for, of course, but following someone is completely acceptable IMHO.

I agree that the rules don't intend to use a ready action in this way, but is there any specific wording that conveys that intent?
 

I disagree. I believe that the rules absolutely intend you to use a ready action in this way, therefore there would not need to be any specific wording to convey an opposite intent. :)
 


Gansk said:
I agree that the rules don't intend to use a ready action in this way, but is there any specific wording that conveys that intent?

Just the AOO system.

In Soviet Russia, the Move Action readies YOU!
 


Gansk said:
How are they related?

I move to a certain square, and ready an action to move away should anyone attack me.

Bob the Opponent Fighter walks up to me, and attacks.

My readied action goes off, and I move 30' away. Because I left a threatened area, Bob gets to hit me with an AoO (assuming I don't Tumble).

Bob loses his normal attack, but gains a bonus attack.

I lose all of my attacks.
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top