Can you ready a skirmish attack?

Mammux

First Post
Simple question. Level 6 Scout/Ranger. If he moves 10' and readies an attack, will that attack get the skirmish bonus? There's a reference to 'in your own turn' in the Skirmish description that makes me think he won't:

The extra damage applies only to attacks taken during the scout’s turn.

-Magnus
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I consider a readied action to make it "your turn." My view is backed up by the fact that taking a readied action switches your initiative count to the count at which you took the action. Ergo, it was clearly "your turn."

So I would say yes, as long as you'd moved 10 or more feat earlier that round, skirmish would apply.
 

I Ergo, it was clearly "your turn."
even though Ready clearly states the character is taking their action before their next turn has begun?

Ready
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun
. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).


and by the argument the readied action is on the characters turn, that would allow the Character to take free actions as normal for their turn, which is cleanly not the case because it take an entire readied action to get just ONE free action, barring talking which has is own 'on anyone's turn' caveat.


Readying an Action
You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action.
 

No. By definition, readied actions occur during someone else's turn.


Each round’s activity begins with the character with the highest initiative result and then proceeds, in order, from there. Each round of a combat uses the same initiative order. When a character’s turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round’s worth of actions. (For exceptions, see Attacks of Opportunity and Special Initiative Actions.)...


You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition.
 

I consider a readied action to make it "your turn." My view is backed up by the fact that taking a readied action switches your initiative count to the count at which you took the action. Ergo, it was clearly "your turn."

So I would say yes, as long as you'd moved 10 or more feat earlier that round, skirmish would apply.

PHB pg 160
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun.

Rules Compendium pg 110 (better words than the PHB IMO)

Your initiaitve count is lower for the rest of the combat if you acted later in the same round during which you decided to ready. If you take your redied action in the round after the one during which you chose to ready, but before your original initiative count comes up, your initiative count rises to the one on which you acted for the rest of the combat.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top