Can you teleport a golem?

Heh, 'kick' may be a bit strong of a word, but it sure can offensivly moisturize butt like there's no tomorrow! :p
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
Spell Immunity works 'exactly like SR', and SR can be voluntarily lowered.

There's certainly room to argue that Spell Immunity, therefore, can be lowered...

-Hyp.

Int 24 Wizard: 'Well, my lovely Golem, please drop your Immunity to Magic so that I can teleport you?'
Int - Stone Golem: *blank stare*
Int 24 Wizard: 'Let me explain, you have some special resistance against magic that you can lower by an act of will.'
Int - Stone Golem: *blank stare*
Int 24 Wizard: 'Well, just concentrate on doing it, and it goes away'.
Int - Stone Golem: *blank stare*

;)
 

Int 24 Wizard: I order you to lower your resistance to magic, golem.
Int -- Golem: *lowers resistance as ordered and keeps it down until expressly told to stop lowering it*



(Int 24 Wizard: I order you to lower your resistance to magic, golem)
(Int -- Golem: *lowers resistance as ordered*)
(Int 24 Wizard: Excellent. *teleports himself and his golem to the home of his enemy*)
(Int 24 Wizard: Golem! Kill him!)
(Int -- Golem: *lumbers forward to kill Enemy Wizard*)
(Enemy Wizard: Zounds! An assault upon my person! *casts disintegrate*)
(Int -- Golem: *collapses into a pile of dust*)
(Int 24 Wizard: GAH!)
 
Last edited:

Two quick snips from the D&D FAQ 09/06/04

Teleport: The spell resistance entry for the various versions
of the teleport spell is “no,” at least for creatures. Note that
when you’re using the teleport spell, you teleport yourself and
other willing creatures. Unless you can command the golem
(and you probably don’t unless you created the golem), it
probably isn’t willing to accompany you and would receive a
saving throw to resist.

Note that a golem cannot voluntarily lower its magic
immunity so that it can receive a harmless spell, but a golem’s
magic immunity does not extend to magic the golem uses on
itself (just as spell resistance doesn’t apply to such effects). A
golem can make use of any magic item that works continuously
or is use activated (provided whoever commands the golem is
on hand to put the item on the golem or order the golem to pick
it up). Being mindless, a golem cannot use any item activated
by command, spell, or spell completion.
 

Hmm, if the golem is immune to magic, would a portable hole effect it?


The golems were created by the characters in question, so they do command them, but I am still leaning towards the arguement that immunity is the same as spell resistance, but that immunity can't be lowered. I know that Hyper is trying to make the arguement for it, but I think that is the fundemental difference between resistance and immunity.

I think that immunity is always on.
 

DM-Rocco said:
Hmm, if the golem is immune to magic, would a portable hole effect it?


The golems were created by the characters in question, so they do command them, but I am still leaning towards the arguement that immunity is the same as spell resistance, but that immunity can't be lowered. I know that Hyper is trying to make the arguement for it, but I think that is the fundemental difference between resistance and immunity.

I think that immunity is always on.

Until immunity says it is also cannot be lowered like Spell Resistance, I'm inclined to believe it's like spell resistance in that regard.

Portable Holes don't allow Spell Resistance near as I can tell, although if they did, yep, the Golem wouldn't be affected by it.
 

Eric of Ptolus said:
Teleport: The spell resistance entry for the various versions
of the teleport spell is “no,” at least for creatures. Note that
when you’re using the teleport spell, you teleport yourself and
other willing creatures. Unless you can command the golem
(and you probably don’t unless you created the golem), it
probably isn’t willing to accompany you and would receive a
saving throw to resist.

That seems to make it pretty clear that you can teleport a golem that you created (or can otherwise command).
 

Eric of Ptolus said:
from the D&D FAQ 09/06/04

Teleport: The spell resistance entry for the various versions
of the teleport spell is “no,” at least for creatures.

I don't agree... looking at the spell, I'd say the SR entry is 'No' for the Personal aspect, and 'Yes' for the Touch aspect... and all creatures except yourself fall under the Touch aspect of the spell.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
I don't agree... looking at the spell, I'd say the SR entry is 'No' for the Personal aspect, and 'Yes' for the Touch aspect... and all creatures except yourself fall under the Touch aspect of the spell.

Except the SRD entry for teleport clearly says, "Only objects held or in use (attended) by another person receive saving throws and spell resistance."
 

Alzrius said:
Except the SRD entry for teleport clearly says, "Only objects held or in use (attended) by another person receive saving throws and spell resistance."

That's right - it's almost identical to what's in the Magic Overview:

(object): The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature’s saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater.

Given that the range is Touch, any object you're affecting with Teleport - magical or not - must be being touched by someone else (in which case it's attended by them) or touched by you (in which case it's attended by you and you aren't resisting), so the 'if they are magical' condition is irrelevant.

So the Teleport text is correct - only objects that are attended get saves or SR. Objects that are unattended don't.

I don't feel the sentence addresses creatures at all.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top