Treebore said:You know, I was looking through the books and I see nothing that specifically says you can or cannot re-charge a wand or staff. It seems to imply that you cannot, but nothing I found specifically stated you can't. Plus the fact there is no mention of rules for recharging would indicate to me that recharging isn't supposed to be done or possible.
Maybe there was something in the 3.0 books, but I doubt it. I don't see why you shouldn't be allowed to re-charge if you are paying the same price you would for a new item with the same number of charges you are recharging.
Either way, it is a DM call as to how they want to do it. As is they are perfectly justified to say you can't recharge a wand or staff. About the only advantage recharging would give you is that it would take proportionately fewer days to get a fully charged wand or staff.
Well, the example given was adding invisibility to a ring of protection.Treebore said:So you can add to rings and wondrous items too?
Spatula said:Well, the example given was adding invisibility to a ring of protection.
My question: is it still just a 50 percent increase (i.e., 6000 gp base), or is it maybe "50 percent more than 50 percent more" (i.e. 4000 + 2000 + 1000 gp base). I realize that the rules don't seem to say so, but it seems odd that the first extra ability and the seventh are penalized the same amount. If you're a DM, would you feel comfortable ruling this way? If you're a player, would you feel screwed if the DM rules that way? (The answers, for me, are "yes" and "probably not."
Treebore said:I was understanding that, what I was asking is where is that repeated in the DMG, I could only find references to armor and weapons.