Caps on Creating Magic Arms and Armor

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
The minimum level to "meet the prereqs" is the minimum needed to cast AO - 11.

No, it isn't.

My caster level is 6, and I'm meeting the prerequisites by activating a scroll.

A caster level of 6 is demonstrably high enough to meet a spell prerequisite of Animate Objects, which may be provided by a character who has prepared the spell (or who knows the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard), or through the use of a spell completion or spell trigger magic item or a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect. As long as I make the caster level check to activate the scroll, of course.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If you want to fake it with scrolls, remember you have to make that check every single day, and if only one fails, start again.
 


Sledge said:
If you want to fake it with scrolls, remember you have to make that check every single day, and if only one fails, start again.

Why start again?

"The caster works for 8 hours each day. He cannot rush the process by working longer each day. But the days need not be consecutive, and the caster can use the rest of his time as he sees fit."

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Weren't you one of the ones going after me because I said you could make boots of dimension door at lower than 7th CL in the last thread?

Did I take a firm position? I don't remember...

I think the whole problem stems from the DMG errata :) As published, it works fine.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
I think the whole problem stems from the DMG errata :) As published, it works fine.

Actually, the errata is the best thing they could have done. It doesn't create any problems at all. As it was published, a lot of those CLs were ridiculously high. You couldn't even make a Keen or a Flaming weapon until Level 10, and it's a minor quality at best.

This finally fixes that.
 

Hypersmurf said:
No, it isn't.

My caster level is 6, and I'm meeting the prerequisites by activating a scroll.

A caster level of 6 is demonstrably high enough to meet a spell prerequisite of Animate Objects, which may be provided by a character who has prepared the spell (or who knows the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard), or through the use of a spell completion or spell trigger magic item or a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect. As long as I make the caster level check to activate the scroll, of course.

-Hyp.

Nope. You have to be a set a caster level high enough to cast the required spell, even if you get it some other way:

srd said:
A creator can create an item at a lower caster level than her own, but never lower than the minimum level needed to cast the needed spell.

Also:

srd said:
A spell prerequisite may be provided by a character who has prepared the spell (or who knows the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard), or through the use of a spell completion or spell trigger magic item or a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect. For each day that passes in the creation process, the creator must expend one spell completion item or one charge from a spell trigger item if either of those objects is used to supply a prerequisite.

So, although the spells needed can be supplied any number of ways, the caster level must be at least the minimum needed to cast the required spell(s).
 

It often happens that the creator cannot actually cast the spell. Spells can be provided by other source than creator himself. In that case, what should be the minimum caster level?
 

Shin Okada said:
It often happens that the creator cannot actually cast the spell. Spells can be provided by other source than creator himself. In that case, what should be the minimum caster level?

The minimum required to cast the spell - not the minimum required for the creator to cast the spell (because, for many applications, this will be an undefined number).
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
The minimum required to cast the spell - not the minimum required for the creator to cast the spell (because, for many applications, this will be an undefined number).

But, by whom? For example, cleric spells can be cast by Ur-Priest of really low CL. Does that mean the minimum caster level for 9th-level cleric spells are 9?
 

Shin Okada said:
But, by whom?

I asked that in the earlier thread.

The only reading that seems to make sense is, "by whomever (or whatever) happens to be involved in supplying the prereqs."

You don't need to go to odd PrC combinations to get to a point where this needs thinking about; the bard and cleric from the core rules do so easily enough.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top