Casting Spells While Wielding a Two Handed Weapon

Alex

First Post
Can a spellcaster cast spells while wielding a two handed weapon?

My thinking is that you can hold the weapon with one hand while casting. A free action is required at the beginning and end of the round to release and grab the weapon with the hand you're casting with.

Is this question addressed anywhere in the rules?

Alex :cool:
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Assuming the char in question is strong enough to carry the weapon in one hand then yea.

For any round that the char was holding the weapon in one hand I would disallow use of any ability the weapon might grant until he wielded it again.

I dont have the book with me but I'm sure it says you only need 1 free hand to cast spells.
 

Alex said:
Can a spellcaster cast spells while wielding a two handed weapon?

My thinking is that you can hold the weapon with one hand while casting. A free action is required at the beginning and end of the round to release and grab the weapon with the hand you're casting with.

Is this question addressed anywhere in the rules?

Alex :cool:
It's not directly addressed in the rules, but doing it your way sounds fine.

I would also make sure to apply the rule about not threatening any squares around you while casting (PHB, pg.143, in the "Cast a Spell" action under "Full-Round Actions") to this situation. So if, for example, the caster switches the two-hander to one hand and begins casting and draws an AoO from someone who then decides to grapple him, the spellcaster would not get the AoO which the grapple attempt normally draws.
 


Remove ads

Top