Casting while moving??

Thank you for the stimulating debate. This has provoked me to institute a house rule for my games that touching one ally to deliver a touch spell in and of iteslf does not provoke an AoO. Touching more than one ally does.

You may now return you yout previously scheduled bickering.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

cmanos said:
Thank you for the stimulating debate. This has provoked me to institute a house rule for my games that touching one ally to deliver a touch spell in and of iteslf does not provoke an AoO. Touching more than one ally does.

You may now return you yout previously scheduled bickering.

yeah it looks like you will need some sort of House rules here. The more I read the RAW the less clear and logical it is on the subject.

Your house rule seems to fit the heroic aspect of D&D.
 

cmanos said:
Thank you for the stimulating debate. This has provoked me to institute a house rule for my games that touching one ally to deliver a touch spell in and of iteslf does not provoke an AoO. Touching more than one ally does.

You may now return you yout previously scheduled bickering.

I'd say that is how the rules are written already but I see the arguement saying that if you if you touch a friend while holding a charge you provoke. But the fact that you don't when touching the same round you cast doesn't seems like an AoE after the fact is not what the designers intended.
 

Jcosby said:
Ok, I hope this is a simple question. I’m fairly new to the 3.5 rules and I couldn’t find any clarification for this question in the books (Although I’m sure it’s there and I just missed it.)



My question is this. Can a PC start casting a spell pause when the target is to be determined, move (At all..5ft, more etc.), then target the spell and finish?



Here is the issue we had. A 3rd level Cleric PC wanted to cast a Cure Light Wounds on another PC. The Cleric was 5 feet away from the target and he was not in a threatened square. If however, the cleric was to move within touch range of the target he would have to move into a threatened square. He then would have to cast while being threatened. What he wanted to do was cast the cure light wounds, hold the spell, take a 5ft step and then touch the target finishing the spell.



In my short time of reading 3.5 rules I’ve never seen anything about this. Can someone please clear this up for me? Either quote the text or please point me to the proper page/book.



Thank you

Jeff Cosby


Your cleric should take the feat Combat Casting (PHB pg 92), it gives +4 to concentration checks.

Read the following, it should answer all your questions about this issue:

Casting on the Defense (PHB pg 140)
Touch Spells in Combat (PHB Pg 140)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top