CDG with nonlethal damage?

Jesus_marley said:
If it were me, I would house rule it that you cannot deliver Nonlethal damage to an already unconcious target.

Also, I would rule that any nonlethal damage delivered is calculated in full even if that damage exceeds the level needed to render the target unconcious. Example: A target that has 50 HP has already received 49 HP of non lethal damage. If he receives 2 more damage in the next hit, he drops and will be unconcious for an hour. If he received 10 damage in the hit he would drop and be out for 9 hours. In both scenarios, any damaged he received while out would be lethal. However, upon regaining conciousness, he could then be struck again for non lethal.

I like this. Non-lethal damage has some realism problems that this would alleviate, I think.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

AbeTheGnome said:
The enemy had been knocked out with Color Spray. He still had full HP. Could I perform a coup de grace with nonlethal damage?

If the unconciousness works like the Sleep spell, then I believe this is what would happen:

You automatically deal double damage (non lethal)
Enemy makes a save or dies
If the non lethal damage he takes from CdG does not exceed his current HPs, he will wake up.
If it does, he will remain unconcious...

Now, if the unconciousness does NOT work like Sleep, I don't think he will wake up if you deal him non lethal damage that does not exceed his current HPs until the 2d4 rounds are up (per Color Spray). The reason it may work like this is because, for some strange reason, I could not find any rules on waking opponents that are unconcious. This is from the SRD

Knocked out and helpless. Unconsciousness can result from having current hit points between -1 and -9, or from nonlethal damage in excess of current hit points.

Doesn't say anything about how to wake someone up that is unconcious. Now I am sure there is a rule for this that I just overlooked or couldn't find. Heck, how does one normally wake up when they sleep for the night? Heh...
 

Infiniti2000 said:
I would've shot it down because it's not allowed in the rules and would be a really terrible house rule to allow it. Kudos to your DM.
By 'take 20' I meant whap the sucker 20 times with full sneak attack damage. Of which there are plenty of rules.
 

Notmousse said:
By 'take 20' I meant whap the sucker 20 times with full sneak attack damage. Of which there are plenty of rules.
Ah, okay then. I've seen many others (on this forum) try to argue to allow 'taking 20' on an attack roll. :)
 

Remove ads

Top