Charge!

I maintain that one can make a move equiv action, then Charge as a Standard action, thus moving a total of 3X your speed, and the "move" portion is not restricted to straight lines. After all, it does say "charge is a special standard action".

Or am I crazy?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You're not crazy, but you're incorrect. When you charge, all your movement for the round must be in a straight line, even if you have some amount of movement other than the charge itself.

This is why Charge is a special standard action; it restricts what else you can do in the round.
 

If you charge, all movement you make in that round must be in the same direction and end in an attack. Since charging is a standard action, you could draw a weapon as a move equivalent action while charging as long as you had a BAB of +1 or greater. You could also perform a non-movement MEA and then partial charge - but you cannot move in one direction and then charge in another in the same round, not under any circumstance*.

Reference the Charge text of the PHB, page 124, paragraph 6:

Movement during a Charge: You must move at least 10 feet and may move up to double your speed. All movement must be in a straight line, with no backing up allowed. You must stop as soon as you are within striking range of your target. You can't run past him and attack from another direction.



*Unless you use the Psionics Handbook, in which there is a special psychic feat that allows a psychic character to change directions while charging. It's called Psionic Charge.
 

There's a table in the PHB (8-1? 8-2?) that defines what sort of move is allowed with each attack action.

Attack (melee) has a move of x1, which represents that a single melee attack is a standard action which allows you to move your speed.

Charge has a move of x2*, from memory, which represents that Charge is a special standard action which allows you to move twice your speed, with restrictions.

Remember, the move is part of a standard action. You don't get a standard action plus a move; you get a standard action, which includes a move. Usually that move is your speed, or can be traded for a MEA. In the case of a charge, that move is more rigidly circumscribed.

-Hyp.

Edit - Wasn't Daniel traditionally in the lions' den?
 
Last edited:

When you charge, you can only move in a straight line - it's a restriction of charging. Note that nowhere is it stated or even implied that all movement in the round must be in a straight line. This is stated in the FAQ, but it's really quite a stretch from the rules as written.

Of course , you are normally allowed no other movement when you charge.
 

Hypersmurf has it right on. Look at PHB p. 122, Table 8-1: Fundamental Actions in Combat. All combat actions that let you take a move action with them say "Yes" under the "Move" column.

Charge hasn't got that, so you don't get a move action with it. Just the x2 for the charge, and nothing else.

Edit - Yes, traditionally Daniel was in the lion's den. (Random parenthetical note: in college I had a radio talk show by that name.)
 
Last edited:

Related question - can you use spring attack during a charge action, assuming you only move in a straight line? How about ride by attack? I assume the answers are the same, and yet it sounds like you're not allowed to combine the two, even though combining the two makes perfect sense in the traditional jousting match type situation.

Oh and on the main topic - I believe the restriction on movement should only be for movement during the charge standard action. The FAQ may say otherwise, and if a DM wanted to go by that, I could understand, but it doesn't seem to make sense, nor is it supported in the rules in the book.

-The Souljourner
 


The Souljourner said:
Related question - can you use spring attack during a charge action, assuming you only move in a straight line? How about ride by attack? I assume the answers are the same, and yet it sounds like you're not allowed to combine the two, even though combining the two makes perfect sense in the traditional jousting match type situation.

Oh and on the main topic - I believe the restriction on movement should only be for movement during the charge standard action. The FAQ may say otherwise, and if a DM wanted to go by that, I could understand, but it doesn't seem to make sense, nor is it supported in the rules in the book.

-The Souljourner

And if you read Ride-By it says when you are using "the charge action".
 

Well there you go. Spring attack - no charge, ride by attack - must be a charge. Good enough for me.

Thanks, I guess I should read the wording of the feat before asking dumb questions ;) (or um.. you know.. instead of asking dumb questions)

-The Souljourner
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top