Charge!


log in or register to remove this ad



Yes, it is I, the "Dreaded" Danielinthewolvesden. "I'm here, I'm there...", etc.

Ok, guys, sure- during the charge action, all movement must be in a straight line. But at round consists of a Standard action, and a Move-equivilent action. The Charge is the Standard action part. Where does it say that the Standard action of a Charge afffects what you do on the "Move equivilent' portion of your round?
 

Actually, a charge according to the SRD, is a full-round action.

Charge [Full][AoO: No]
Description: The character must move before attacking, not after. The character must move at least 10 feet and may move up to double base speed. All movement must be in a straight line, with no backing up allowed. The charge stops as soon as the character threatens the target. A character can't run past the target and attack from another direction.
 

Damn, the last time I brought this up everyone and there mothers were trying to convince me it was a fullround action. How things have changed.

Regardless of the SRD, charge is a standard action, sorry no errata, no change.

However, someone posted the most elegant point to this problem, that never came up when I asked the question.

A standard action INCLUDES the move, the two are not seperate. I used to think that you took a standard and then the move, or vise versa. Now that I've checked the phb I was incorrect. So charge is a standard action that includes the move, the charge description gives reference to how that move can be performed- straight line only, no backing up.

So you can't move and then charge.


HOWEVER, if you have a partial action from haste, nothing in the book prevents a partial move, then a charge. That's legal.

As for spring attack, that's stickier. It says that you have to stop when you are able to attack- but you have to do that when you attack normally anyway, and spring attack allows the option to continue moving afterwards. Since charge says as long as you continue in a straight line its kosher, I would say you can spring attack similar to a ride by attack, as long as you keep going straight your okay.
 

danielinthwolvesden said:
Where does it say that the Standard action of a Charge afffects what you do on the "Move equivilent' portion of your round?

I repeat: PHB p. 122, Table 8-1. Charge has no "Yes" in the Move column, so you do not get an extra Move action with it. That's precisely what makes it a "special" standard action.
 

Ah, then what you are saying is that the line on pg 124 "Charge is a special standard action..." is misleading. Charge is a full round action? But it does not list it so in the list on table 8-4, and you CAN do a charge as a "partial ation", see table 8-3.
 

danielinthwolvesden said:
...and you CAN do a charge as a "partial ation", see table 8-3.
If you're taking a partial action, you can only Partial Charge. That's a special partial action, which works like a regular Charge except that you can only move 1x your speed (instead of 2x).
 

AuraSeer said:

If you're taking a partial action, you can only Partial Charge. That's a special partial action, which works like a regular Charge except that you can only move 1x your speed (instead of 2x).

And only if you're restricted to a partial action for some reason (slowed, surprise round, etc.). You can't make a single move and then a partial charge.

You also cannot draw a weapon as part of a charge. If your BAB is +1 or higher, you can draw a weapon as part of a move. But a charge is not a move, it is a separate type of action. That is why Quick Draw or a Glove of Storing is important - you can draw the weapon for free and do a partial charge during the surprise round.

-Fletch!
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top