Charging into Difficult Terrain...


log in or register to remove this ad


Primitive Screwhead said:
Not sure what you are asking here... but

Charge per SRD states you cannot charge over difficult terrain. As long as your path does not pass over difficult terrain.. no problem.

Right, I am asking, what happens if my path does end up going over difficult terrain? Do you just stop where the difficult terrain begins?

Here is an example... I am charging foe... Foe had a ready action set so when I come within a certain distance, he casts entangle around me. So I am in the middle of the charge, and suddenly the terrain around me is difficult. Do I just stop? Do I continue?
 

RigaMortus2 said:
Right, I am asking, what happens if my path does end up going over difficult terrain? Do you just stop where the difficult terrain begins?
Yes. If you are then not close enough to attack, then your turn ends. You can then take a free action, like swearing out loud about the difficult terrain you didn't know was there, but nothing else.

RigaMortus2 said:
Here is an example... I am charging foe... Foe had a ready action set so when I come within a certain distance, he casts entangle around me. So I am in the middle of the charge, and suddenly the terrain around me is difficult. Do I just stop? Do I continue?
You stop. Excellent tactic by your foe.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Yes. If you are then not close enough to attack, then your turn ends.

Ok, follow up question (just so I understand this correctly).

Let's say the 5 foot area around my opponent is difficult terrain. I only have a 5 foot reach. I charge the opponent. Do I stop BEFORE I enter the difficult terrain, thus making the enemy 10 feet away from me and I am unable to attack, or do I enter the difficult terrain and then I stop (5 feet into it), thus allowing me to complete the charge attack?
 

RigaMortus2 said:
Right, I am asking, what happens if my path does end up going over difficult terrain? Do you just stop where the difficult terrain begins?

Here is an example... I am charging foe... Foe had a ready action set so when I come within a certain distance, he casts entangle around me. So I am in the middle of the charge, and suddenly the terrain around me is difficult. Do I just stop? Do I continue?

I think you could continue moving, but it would no longer be a charge, just a double move.
 

RigaMortus2 said:
Let's say the 5 foot area around my opponent is difficult terrain. I only have a 5 foot reach. I charge the opponent. Do I stop BEFORE I enter the difficult terrain, thus making the enemy 10 feet away from me and I am unable to attack, or do I enter the difficult terrain and then I stop (5 feet into it), thus allowing me to complete the charge attack?

I am not entirely clear on the situation you're describing, so let me answer it two different ways.

Case 1: Enemy is surrounded by difficult terrain.

Okay, let's say that D = difficult terrain, E= enemy and X = normal terrain.

DDDDDD
DDDEDD
DDDDDD
XXXXXX
XXXXXX

Your charge ends in any of the italicized squares, because you can't charge into difficult terrain.

Case 2: Enemy is standing in difficult terrain.

DDDDDD
DDDDDD
DDDEDD
XXXXXX
XXXXXX

Your charge, again, ends in any of the italicized squares, but this time you successfully charge, because you don't need to enter a "difficult" square in order to attack.

Does this help? I wasn't sure from your question which of these two cases you meant. :)
 

RigaMortus2 said:
Ok, follow up question (just so I understand this correctly).

Let's say the 5 foot area around my opponent is difficult terrain. I only have a 5 foot reach. I charge the opponent. Do I stop BEFORE I enter the difficult terrain, thus making the enemy 10 feet away from me and I am unable to attack, or do I enter the difficult terrain and then I stop (5 feet into it), thus allowing me to complete the charge attack?

If your charge takes you into difficult terrain, you are no longer charging at that point.
 

There's two kinds of "difficult" terrain; terrain that you move at half speed through, and terrain that you move at quarter speed through.

I was under the impression that you could charge through half speed terrain if you make a Balance check (DC 10).
 

RigaMortus2 said:
Let's say the 5 foot area around my opponent is difficult terrain. I only have a 5 foot reach. I charge the opponent. Do I stop BEFORE I enter the difficult terrain, thus making the enemy 10 feet away from me and I am unable to attack, or do I enter the difficult terrain and then I stop (5 feet into it), thus allowing me to complete the charge attack?
Before. You cannot charge in difficult terrain. Treat it like a wall. Do you stop before or after the wall? You can't charge in the wall, right? Same thing, really.
Caliban said:
I think you could continue moving, but it would no longer be a charge, just a double move.
I strongly disagree with the suggestion that you can "convert" a full round action into two separate move actions. This creates an untenable paradox. What happens if you provoke an AoO, charging past someone. They manage to hit only because of the -2 to AC. Then, afterwards, you convert that charge to a double move action. Do you retcon the hit into a non-hit?

Granted, there are no rules specifically disallowing the conversion of actions (such as "I withdraw to here (pointing at the battlemap) and then convert it to a double move.") But, it's a really bad idea.
 

Remove ads

Top