Charm + Teleport = A Very Long Fall

dcollins said:
Actually, that would be a House Rule (although fairly common from what I understand). There's nothing in the Underwater Combat/Spells rules that place any restriction on verbal components or item activation.
Not exactly a house rule - more of an interpertation of existing rules:
Verbal (V): A verbal component is a spoken incantation. To provide a verbal component, you must be able to speak in a strong voice. A silence spell or a gag spoils the incantation (and thus the spell). A spellcaster who has been deafened has a 20% chance to spoil any spell with a verbal component that he or she tries to cast.
(from Online SRD, emphasis added)
Can a critter that can't currently breath underwater speak in a strong voice whle underwater? Does a flood of water down your throat while you try to cast qualify as a gag? If so, then you can't do the verbal components underwater without some effect that permits you to do so - personally, I'd probably rule that any spell which permits you to stay underwater without suffocation checks would qualify.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Quidam said:
Proposed tactic:

Sorceress casts Charm Person on a BBEG, moves in and teleports them both (since he's now willing) to some place rather high up in the air (the sorc having cast fly on herself) and drops the BBEG.

Given that the BBEG fails his save vs a level one spell, I'd still say he'd get a reflex save to make a grapple check to keep from getting dropped.

What think you?
The caster doesn't need to go with - Teleport (and it's Greater brother) can target touched critters; it's only Dimension Door that requires the caster to come along. No need for the Fly spell (or the water-breathing spell, or the fire resistance spell, or ....).

It can also work with Plane Shift, if you aren't too worried about being able to find the remains.

Also, you may want to look into getting a Symbol of Persuasion Permanently installed on the fighter's shield (Cleric/Sorceror/Wizard 6, minimum caster level 14 for Permanency; costs 3000 exp for the Permanency and 5000 gp for the Symbol itself) - level 6 spell, once activated (sight would probably be a good idea) affects everyone not excluded at the time of casting of the Symbol within 60 feet that fails the Will save for a full 10 minutes, then is inactive for 10 minutes before it can re-activate. Makes that strategy much easier.
 

Jack Simth said:
Teleport (and it's Greater brother) can target touched critters...

Also, you may want to look into getting a Symbol of Persuasion...

Good point re: Teleport's range.

Do you have any sort of reference for this Symbol of Persuasion?
 

Players: You have been warned. You have now given ideas to your DM to use against you.

And don't think we won't because we want you to win.
 

RangerWickett said:
Somewhat related question: if you're grappling a wizard and he teleports away, do you count as 'gear'? In a recent session a whole bunch of PCs dogpiled on the wizard villain to keep him from escaping, with the rationale that he'd have to bring us all with him since we were in contact. But nope, the DM said he just vanished, and we fell on each other in a heap.

Oh, man, did you get off easy. If I'd been the DM, I would have announced that he was teleporting, then asked each of you around the table if you were willing to go along. Then picked the weakest among you as the only one I wanted to include in the spell, and take that one with me for a private "discussion." :]

But yeah, he doesn't have to take you with him if he doesn't want to.
 

DM's

cmanos said:
Players: You have been warned. You have now given ideas to your DM to use against you.

And don't think we won't because we want you to win.


Thing is, I started this thread and I'm the DM in question.

The sorceress in my campaign might very well go for this tactic, but they all know what's good for the goose, etc.

I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't being a pushover DM in allowing the move.
 


teleport's range

I checked, and Teleport's range is listed as:

srd said:
Target: You and touched objects or other touched willing creatures

While I can see as how this could be interpreted as

(You and touched objects) or (other touched willing creatures)

I believe it's meant to be interpreted as

(You) and (touched objects or other touched willing creatures)

Supporting this belief is the reference, in the DMG under hiring a spellcaster- Teleport costs twice as much since they have to 'port home.

So... you still have to go with them.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top