Cleric healing - how does it stack (or not)?

Finally got around to playing a different character class in a WOTBS campaign we started at home and I've got a few questions about how the healing stacks, or doesn't for the Cleric (so much different than playing my Holy Avenger!). :)

(I chose BattleCleric, btw)

Lets say you've got the following:

Healers Lore (class feature)
Radiant Vessel (feat)
Healers Implement (feat)
Healers Brooch (item)
Symbol Of The Warpriest (item)
Gloves Of The Healer (item)

I'm nowhere near lev30, but lets go ahead, for simplicity's sake, and say that we are, and all items are at +6.

Lets say I using Healing Word on an ally. The HS plus 6d6 is easy. Now at first glance, it looks like I've got +18 to heal with that (or more with Radiant vessel if I had hit the round before, and even more if it was a Radiant attack using the Warpriest Symbol). But then on 2nd glance, it looks like "enhancement bonus" appears multiple times and I'm assuming that does not stack because it would be considered as the same source.

So...how would this stack using:

Healing Word

A healing power

A healing power that doesn't use a HS

Thanks gang!

PS I searched, but didnt' find anything definitive except that Healers Lore doesn't stack onto regeneration apparently.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

DDF: it would help a lot if you quoted the rules regarding all the items you were asking about.

Gloves othe healer: Property: When you use a power that lets one or more creatures spend a healing surge to regain hit points, one target regains an extra 2d6 hit points.

Symbol of the Warpriest: Property: Once per round when you hit with an attack using this holy symbol, one conscious ally within 5 squares of you regains hit points equal to the symbol’s enhancement bonus. (hmm. Nice, but not the same trigger as healing. Sure you don't want a Symbol of the Holy Nimbus?)

Healer's Brooch: Property: When you use a power that enables you or an ally to regain hit points, add the brooch’s enhancement bonus to the hit points gained.

Healer's Implement: Benefit: When you let a creature spend a healing surge to regain hit points with any of your cleric healing powers, add your holy symbol’s enhancement bonus to the hit points the recipient regains.

Radiant Vessel: Benefit: If you hit an enemy with a cleric attack power that has the radiant keyword, the next time you use healing word before the end of your next turn the target regains 2d6 additional hit points.

HEALER'S LORE

Your study of healing allows you to make the most of your healing prayers. When you let a creature spend a healing surge to regain hit points with one of your cleric powers that has the healing keyword, add your Wisdom modifier to the hit points the recipient regains.

Ok, so some things here only work on Healing Word (ok, just Radiant Vessel); and two things use an enhancement bonus (Healer's Implement and Healer's Brooch). But everything else should stack.
 


Yes, the errata for Healer's Lore came out a few months back, right when I decided to make my first cleric. The CB did not accurately reflect this change, removing Healer's Lore even from powers that still should have retained the benefit, but I don't have an active DDI account so I don't know if it was ever fixed or not.
 

I was copying directly from DDI and copied from that, so Healer's Lore definitely is restricted to surges there (as one can see in my post above).
 

I thought Healer's Brooch and Healer's Implement stacked for some reason (that one of them instead added a bonus 'equal to the enhancement bonus' which wasn't actually an enhancement bonus), but that quote uses the actual enhancement bonus.

Anyhow, yeah, you can add quite a lot to a heal.
 

Thanks for the replies so far.

Posting desc. of power/items/feats noted.

Okay, so I might as well drop the Healers Implement feat, since the Brooch is doing the same thing and save a feat slot.

Now...about Radiant Vessel - I have the Supreme Healer feat, which lets me use Healing Word on 2 targets any time I use Healing Word. So if I had hit with a Radiant attack the round before, would both my Healing Word targets get the additional 2d6 healing from Radiant Vessel?

Thanks! :)
 


Okay, thanks for all the wonderful replies. I want to step back for a second to Healers Brooch and Healers Implement...

They both say "add enhancement bonus", I got that, but the enhancement bonus comes from 2 different sources. (Healers Brooch gives the enhancement bonus from the brooch, Healers Implement gives the enhancement bonus from your Holy Symbol).

Does that not make a difference? Or is the "enhancement bonus" part what makes it not work together, no matter the source?

Thanks gang!
 

It's the fact that they're both enhancement bonuses. A typed bonus to a Thing doesn't stack with another typed bonus to that thing -- in this case, they're both being added to your healing, so they don't stack (the abilities both let you add the enhancement bonus to your healing in addition to what it normally does). That rule is in addition to the "same named bonus" rule, which obviously doesn't apply here.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top