I've been thinking about this for a while now, and I really cannot come up with an answer. If anyone knows the answer to this, please post it here, because it's bugging the crap out of me.
Is there any actual difference between a non-weapon Ranged power and a Close burst power that only targets one creature? I thought for the longest time that the difference was that Ranged powers caused damage, whereas Close burst powers affecting one target only applied certain statuses (like Divine Challenge for example). But now I see that's not the case in PHII, so I'm wondering what exactly is the reason/difference for not remaining consistant?
Looking at the Avenger for example... the Channel Divinity: Abjure Undead prayer is a Close burst 5 that targets a single undead in the burst, and causes Wisdom damage. Is there any reason at all why this shouldn't just be a Ranged 5 prayer, rather than a Close burst 5 single-target one? The 3rd level encounter Enmity's Reach, same thing (one creature in a Close burst 5 takes damage, rather than just using Ranged 5).
I've thought that perhaps the rules adjudicating Close attacks were different than Ranged ones, but I haven't been able to figure any out. So I really don't know why damaging a single-target attack power isn't just always Ranged, rather than one target in a burst. Please help.
Is there any actual difference between a non-weapon Ranged power and a Close burst power that only targets one creature? I thought for the longest time that the difference was that Ranged powers caused damage, whereas Close burst powers affecting one target only applied certain statuses (like Divine Challenge for example). But now I see that's not the case in PHII, so I'm wondering what exactly is the reason/difference for not remaining consistant?
Looking at the Avenger for example... the Channel Divinity: Abjure Undead prayer is a Close burst 5 that targets a single undead in the burst, and causes Wisdom damage. Is there any reason at all why this shouldn't just be a Ranged 5 prayer, rather than a Close burst 5 single-target one? The 3rd level encounter Enmity's Reach, same thing (one creature in a Close burst 5 takes damage, rather than just using Ranged 5).
I've thought that perhaps the rules adjudicating Close attacks were different than Ranged ones, but I haven't been able to figure any out. So I really don't know why damaging a single-target attack power isn't just always Ranged, rather than one target in a burst. Please help.