combat question --- Withdraw???

tmk2323

First Post
ok, I have a quick question.
I have read in the PHB and DMG regarding Withdraw.
What happens if a player (*) is inbetween two enemies (&) and then withdraws???
ex. *
& &
going south between them.
Total there are two squares from each that the paly goes through.
It says in the PHB that the first 5ft step has no AoO but each one after does.
What is the ruling???
thanks for any help
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If the situation is like this (A = hero, B = villians):

Code:
...
BAB
...

...and figure A withdraws straight up or down, then both B's get an AOO. If A withdraws diagonally to one side, he can arrange it so only one AOO takes place.

If the B's were instead flanking in the diagonal directions, A could withdraw diagonally and take no AOO's.
 

Attack of Opportunities while moving:
Moving out of a threatened square provokes an AOO (unless the entire movement is only a 5-foot step.) Moving into a threatened square does not provoke.

Withdraw:
Using the withdraw action, the starting square is not considered to be threatened. If you proceed to move into a different threatened square and out of it, then you provoke an AOO.

The example dcollins gave (which is also in the PHB, I believe) is correct. In that situation, it's impossible to move more than 5-feet without provoking at least one AOO. Withdrawing straight up or down would provoke an AOO from both opponents while withdrawing diagonally provokes from only one opponent.
 

thanks!!! but I am sorry that my example wasn't what I wanted to show.
but your example was closer to what I was trying to ask about.
I had a player try to argue about the ruling, even though it was the First time he tried to use withdraw.
to tell the truth it was the first time I had used it.
Well thanks for the info.
 

Remove ads

Top