D&D 5E Counterspell check ?


log in or register to remove this ad

Paraxis

Explorer
On the wizards turn.
1. Wizard casts spell. (His Action)
2. Sorcerer casts counterspell using his reaction.
3. Wizard casts counterspell using his reaction.

Reactions can be used on your turn.
The limit of a cantrip and bonus action spell don't apply because that is not what we are talking about no one is using a bonus action in the above scenario.

Under Casting Time on pg 202.

REACTIONS
Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so.

The spell doesn't limit when you can cast it, the wizard has a reaction, counterspell is a spell he can see being cast, so the wizard should be able to counterspell the counterspell.
 


Gecko85

Explorer
But the Wizard has already cast a spell (on his turn), so could not have readied Counterspell as a reaction.

A spell must have a casting time of 1 action to be readied, and holding onto the spell’s magic until you release it with your reaction requires concentration (explained in chapter 10). For example, if you are concentrating on the web spell and ready magic missile, your web spell ends, and if you take damage before you release magic missile with your reaction, you might lose the spell as a result of your concentration being broken.
 



Thyrwyn

Explorer
Some thoughts:

1) Counterspell specifically says that it interrupts the spellcasting process;

2) Reactions, unlike Readied Actions, do not state that they come after their trigger;

3) Counterspell has a Somatic component, so it could be argued that the original spellcaster would need two free hands if the original spell also had a Somatic component (one for the original spell, one for the counterspell to counter the counterspell...)

I would not rule it that way - Just playing Devil's Advocate.
 

Dausuul

Legend
2) WHY NOT ???
You can, in fact, counterspell an enemy counterspell. (Unlike 4E, 5E allows you to take reactions on your own turn.) The only down side is that doing so expends your reaction. So you force your own spell through, but at the cost of leaving yourself open to whatever the enemy mage does on her turn. It's still a winning tactic, though. When two glass cannons start blasting at each other, whoever gets in the first shot is likely to get in the last one, too.

Two dueling wizards with counterspell can burn through spell slots at a ferocious rate. If you think you have more spell slots than your opponent, you want to counterspell every chance you get, waging a war of attrition. If you're on the receiving end of this tactic, you still have to respond in kind because you can't afford to be letting enemy spells through while your own are blocked.
 
Last edited:

Ruzak

First Post
If I cast fireball and then move, provoking an opportunity attack, can I cast shield? How is this any different?
 

DaveDash

Explorer
You can, in fact, counterspell an enemy counterspell. (Unlike 4E, 5E allows you to take reactions on your own turn.) The only down side is that doing so expends your reaction. So you force your own spell through, but at the cost of leaving yourself open to whatever the enemy mage does on her turn. It's still a winning tactic, though. When two glass cannons start blasting at each other, whoever gets in the first shot is likely to get in the last one, too.

Two dueling wizards with counterspell can burn through spell slots at a ferocious rate. If you think you have more spell slots than your opponent, you want to counterspell every chance you get, waging a war of attrition. If you're on the receiving end of this tactic, you still have to respond in kind because you can't afford to be letting enemy spells through while your own are blocked.

It also pays off when you counterspell a 9th level spell with a 3rd level spell. Given the Abjurer in my party is now roughly +10 on his counter spell check, this is a viable tactic.

Having said that, the enemy Wizard can also just counter spell you back.

And then your Lore Bard counter spells him....

Welcome to my game. :)
 

Remove ads

AD6_gamerati_skyscraper

Remove ads

Upcoming Releases

Top