Coup de Grace and Charge

Hmm... perhaps the intention of Nimble Strike is to allow the Ranger to use it while one square away from the enemy, shifting adjacent to them to gain +1 to their attack roll from Prime Shot and then attacking.

If using the power is what provokes...
And the ranger is one square away from the enemy when he uses the power...
Then shifting next to the target and firing their shot should not provoke.

Twin Strike would still be much better though.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

But a ranged utility power that does not attack (i.e., most utilities) isn't necessarily a ranged attack.

Sure it is.

We know that a Ranged Utility Power has an Attack Type of Ranged.

So we look up Attack Types on p270, and we find that a power with the Ranged Attack Type is labelled 'Ranged Attack'.

A Ranged utility power might not be an attack, but it's a Ranged Attack.

-Hyp.
 

Sure it is.

We know that a Ranged Utility Power has an Attack Type of Ranged.

So we look up Attack Types on p270, and we find that a power with the Ranged Attack Type is labelled 'Ranged Attack'.

A Ranged utility power might not be an attack, but it's a Ranged Attack.

-Hyp.
OK, I'll buy that. At first I didn't, but I scoured and found PHB 56. So a Ranged Utility has an Attack Type of Ranged, but that still doesn't make it an attack (see PHB 15, or PHB 27-28: there are two types of powers, attack and utility) or even a Ranged Attack.

RAW, a Ranged Utility probably does provoke, there's enough places that say "Ranged Power." Now maybe it should just be "Ranged Attack" but that may improve some powers beyond their original intent. If it said Ranged Power throughout instead of "Ranged attack" we would have less confusion, but it still leaves the problems of Nimble and Deft Strike, which I am strongly inclined to believe do not work as intended under the current rules.

EDIT: Deft strike does say "move ... before making the attack." So clearly, you make an attack as part of the power. Maybe that attack should be subject to OAs separately from the use of the power (still one / enemy / turn of course)...
 
Last edited:

OK, I'll buy that. At first I didn't, but I scoured and found PHB 56. So a Ranged Utility has an Attack Type of Ranged, but that still doesn't make it an attack (see PHB 15, or PHB 27-28: there are two types of powers, attack and utility) or even a Ranged Attack.

It's not an attack, or an attack power, but it is a ranged attack - a ranged attack is any power with an attack type of ranged (again, see p270 in conjunction with p56 - Shake It Off is a Ranged Utility power, and a Ranged Power; it is not an attack, or an attack power; but since it has an attack type of Ranged, it falls under the section on p270 labelled 'Ranged Attacks', which is where the rules for pwoers with an attack type of Ranged are found).

EDIT: Deft strike does say "move ... before making the attack." So clearly, you make an attack as part of the power. Maybe that attack should be subject to OAs separately from the use of the power (still one / enemy / turn of course)...

If we assume that p268 is giving rules that are separate and additional to 271/290, then I agree - Deft Strike could provoke on two occasions, when using the ranged power in the initial square, and when making the attack in the final square. If we assume that 268 is restating p271/290, using the synonymous-but-ambiguous phrase "make a ranged attack" to stand for "use a ranged power", then it only provokes in the initial square.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top