Couple Simple ?'s on Arcane Spell casting

JDragon

Explorer
I'm working on a Duskblade build and need to get other opinions (or official ruling) on a couple things for casters that I have never really gotten in to the details of.

#1 - Spells with Material Components, does the caster use his free hand to pull the components from his pouch while casting or do they just disappear?

In other words; do material components require a free hand while casting?

# 2 For an Arcane caster, casting True Strike which requires a Focus, (small wooden replica of archery target) would he need the Focus in hand or would it being in his spell component pouch be ok?

The reason for the questions is I'm looking at the Somatic Weaponry feat in Complete Mage to be able to carry a heavy shield and still cast for my Duskblade, once he has Armored Mage with heavy shield (level 7).

Thanks and I hope this made sense, its been a long day. :-P

JD
 

log in or register to remove this ad

To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any).

In addition, note that the grappling rules specifically note that you must have material components in hand before you can cast.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
To cast a spell, you must be able to speak (if the spell has a verbal component), gesture (if it has a somatic component), and manipulate the material components or focus (if any).

In addition, note that the grappling rules specifically note that you must have material components in hand before you can cast.

-Hyp.

Perfect, thanks.

JD
 

From memory, there are a few implicit exceptions, which specify that the focus must be somewhere on your person (implying that you need not manipulate them at casting time)... but I can't recall which spells are examples, and I'm away from my PHB.

-Hyp.
 


Remove ads

Top