Cure Minor on self when disabled

Status
Not open for further replies.
My gut reaction goes with Shilsen, but my reading of the rules coincides with HeapThaumaturgist, specifically the "Unless your activity increased your hit points" ruling.

So I'd say it's legit, the character is healed and able to act again.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

HeapThaumaturgist said:
But you're no longer disabled after you've been healed one HP.

So?

You're disabled while you're taking the standard action, and it's taking a standard action while disabled that causes the damage.

Not being-disabled-after-completing-a-standard-action.

-Hyp.
 

HellHound said:
My gut reaction goes with Shilsen, but my reading of the rules coincides with HeapThaumaturgist, specifically the "Unless your activity increased your hit points" ruling.

Yes, the activity increased your hit points, so you're not at -1 and dying. You're at 0 and disabled. (Again.)

-Hyp.
 

HeapThaumaturgist said:
But you're no longer disabled after you've been healed one HP. Which happens before the spell is over because it happens instantly simultaneously with the casting of the spell. Before the "after" comes into effect the "instantaneous" has raised your HP above 0 and you're no longer Disabled as if you were never Disabled.

I disagree.

Are you disabled? Yes.

Are you about to perform a standard action (or any other action as outlined in the Disabled description)? Yes.

Therefore, when you finish that action, you will lose 1 hit point - regardless of what that action is.

Now if, after losing that hit point, you have more than 0hp, you are no longer disabled and may act normally. If you have 0hp, you are still disabled, and on your next turn we begin again.
 

Sithobi1 said:
It also says something like "or any other strenuous action, like casting a quickened spell."
Yeah, but he can cast two cure minor wounds spells in a round that way. Not that that will do him any good but imagining it is kinda funny.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Yes, the activity increased your hit points, so you're not at -1 and dying. You're at 0 and disabled. (Again.)

-Hyp.
That was my point exactly. I sincerely didn't even think there was room for a debate here. Obviously I still haven't spent enough time on this forum :D
 

We've had this discussion in our group as well and our opinion was the same as Hypersmurf's and Patryn's. You go up to 1 HP and then back down to 0 HP.

A similar question that came up in our group was:

If you are disabled and cast Cure Light Wounds on yourself, are you no longer disabled and able to still do a move action that turn?

The answer is no. You have all of the actions possible when your turn starts (i.e. only a Standard Action) and when you get healed, you do not suddenly gain a move action because the very act of casting Cure Light Wounds has already used up your entire action for the round.

You can, however, lose an action in your turn. For example, you start your action, someone readied a Slow spell on you, and if you fail the save, you can finish your current standard or move action, but you lose any full round action.
 

Thanee said:
*snip*
And yes, of course it's totally pointless to empower Cure Minor Wounds (it was not really meant as a serious reply ;)).
*snip*

True, the metamagic feat to use is Twinned Spell. ;)
 

From SRD
Taking move actions doesn’t risk further injury, but performing any standard action (or any other action the DM deems strenuous, including some free actions such as casting a quickened spell) deals 1 point of damage after the completion of the act. Unless the action increased the disabled character’s hit points, she is now in negative hit points and dying.

It is obvious and straight forward in the SRD. You will lose 1 hp no matter what happens during the action at completion.

The "unless" clause is only there to indicate that you will be dying if you didn't raise your hit points.

The character in question will be at 0 hp after the casting of a cure minor wounds spell. They gain 1 hp for the spell, but lose 1 hp for the strenuous activity. They do not become dying because their hp were increased above 0.

A quickened cure minor wounds with a cure minor wounds will still result in you being on 0 hp.

D
 

"Healing that raises your hit points above 0 makes you fully functional again, just as if you'd never been reduced to 0 or fewer hit points"

Thus, IMC, you could use Cure Minor to get back to normal functioning (at 1 hp). Not that it's going to do you much good if it comes to that.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top