Mistwell
Crusty Old Meatwad
Here is a FAQ based on questions and answers from various posts on the Wizards of the Coast boards over several months. In each case the person answering the question is Charles Ryan, one of the writers of d20 Modern and the unofficial "sage" of the game (thank you Charles for all your hard work)!
I did not compile this information to begin with (for that you can thank a person who goes by the handle "Loyal"). However, I did edit it a bit for format, and add in some apparently missing questions, guessing as best I could on what the question was, based on the context provided by the answer.
I doubt this is a complete list so far, but it isn't bad. If anyone knows of any additional rulings, please post them here and I will add them.
D20 Modern FAQ Version 1.1
1. Contents
Contents 1
Brawl, Combat Martial Arts, Prone 2
Brass Knuckles 3
Shadow Slayer 4
Two Weapon Fighting 5
Skills and Occupations 6
The Perform Skill 7
Prestige Classes 8
Abilities at First Level 9
Armor Proficiency 10
Start/Complete Full-Round Action 11
Scopes 12
Beretta, Glock, and Machine Gun 13
Escape Artist 14
Ignore Hardness 15
Tear Gas Grenades 16
Pilot Skill 17
Tumble 18
Multiple Double Taps 19
Bat Moreau 20
Standing From Prone/Nip-up 21
Benelli 12-gauge Shotgun 22
Vehicle Feats 23
Agile Riposte 24
Shadow Enemy 25
Soldier/Martial Artist Stacking 26
Wealth Loopholes and Licensing 27
2. Brawl, Combat Martial Arts, Prone
Q: There are several feats like "Brawl" that raise the amount of non-lethal damage you do when you make an unarmed attack. My question is if these translate into lethal damage if I have the combat martial arts feat. In other words, if I have combat martial arts and brawl, do I deal 1D6 lethal or nonlethal, my choice. Or it that I can deal 1d4 lethal (combat martial arts) or 1d6 nonlethal (brawl)?
A: At any given time, you use one feat or the other. In other words:
If you want to deal nonlethal damage, and don't care if you're considered armed or unarmed, use the Brawl feat to deal 1d6 damage.
If you want to deal lethal damage, and/or you want to make an unarmed attack of opportunity (or not provoke an AoO when making your unarmed attack), use the Combat Martial Arts feat and deal only 1d4 damage.
Q: Also, the paragraph on "standing up" from prone on page 137 states that you provoke an attack of opportunity when you stand up from prone. The chart on page 135 says you don't. You didn't in the regular Dungeons in Dragons game. Is the
paragraph on 137 just a typo?
A: The table is incorrect. Standing up from prone provokes an attack of opportunity.
[By the way, the Daredevil's nip-up ability should say "as a free action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity."]
Q: "Start/Complete Full Round Acton" is a move action. Does this mean I can attack and use a move action to start a full attack. For instance if my BAB was +6/+1. Could I attack at +6, then as a move action start a full round attack (attacking again at +6)then the next round finish my full attack attacking at +1, then attack again at +6 as my attack action for round 2? If this is not the case what are the specific restrictions on which full round actions I can take?
A: D'oh! Start/complete a full-round action should be an attack action! Yikes!
Furthermore, it should be clearer that when you split up a full-round action like this, it doesn't take effect until the completion round. Thus, if you used it to make a full attack, you wouldn't make any of the attacks until the second round.
3. Brass Knuckles
Q: A few question about how brass knuckles operate. It states in their description that brass knuckles let you do lethal with an unarmed attack but that the attack is otherwise considered unarmed.
Also it states that if you have the brawl feat, that brass knuckles increase the base damage delt by +1 and turn the damage lethal.
SO...my two questions are this. Does the first part mean that even though people with brass knuckles can deal lethal, they still provoke attacks of opportunity when they attack.
A: Attacks made with brass knuckles provoke attacks of opportunity just like normal unarmed attacks. Also, you cannot make attacks of opportunity with brass knuckles (just as you cannot make AoO with normal unarmed attacks).
Q: With brawl and brass knuckles is the +1 on top of the additional damage from brawl or in stead of. In other words, with brawl and brass knuckles: do I deal 1d6+1 lethat damage or 1D3+1 lethal?
A: 1d3+1.
Q: Does improved brawl or combat martial arts have any effect on using brass knuckles. Does improved brawl increase brass knuckle damage at all.
A: No and no.
Q: Do brass knuckles do +1 damage when used by a person with combat martial arts or are brass knuckles essentially useless to someone with combat martial arts (because they can already do lethal)
A: They offer no advantage when used with the Combat Martial Arts feats.
4. Shadow Slayer
Q: Does the Slayer Weapon enhancement bonus work only against creatures of Shadow or does the weapon become for all intents and purposes a +X magic weapon?
A: The latter. A +1 slayer weapon is a +1 weapon for that Shadow Slayer. Hopefully, he'll use it to go kill evil shadow creatures--but the bonus is in effect no matter what he uses it against.
5. Two Weapon Fighting
Q: Wait a minute. Let me get this straight. By acquiring just one feat -- TWF feat -- I can use one weapon in my off hand at no penalty, even if I'm not fighting with two weapons (let's say hypothetically, I injured my primary hand)?
A: The d20 rules never specify which hand is your primary hand. (There's no place on the character sheet to specify whether your character is right-handed or left-handed, and most players probably never even give it a thought.) Furthermore, there are no rules for hit location, or for being specially incapacitated by damage. In short, the d20 system simply never deals with what happens if you use a single weapon in your non-primary hand. So that's not really an issue.
More importantly, we realized that the Ambidexterity feat really only served to make two-weapon fighting an ability that costs two feats instead of one. This seemed like a needless cost and a needless complication. So we got rid of it. The advantages of two-weapon fighting are still pretty marginal (in my mind, anyway); it's really more an issue of style than of substance. Most of the players who choose to fight with two weapons do so because it's pretty cool, not because they gain any real edge in combat. And that's as it should be--players get options that suit their tastes, while the game remains balanced and has the right feel.
The text and table on page 138 are correct. The text of the Two-Weapon Fighting feat (page 88) is incorrect; it should say: “Benefit: Your penalties for fighting with two weapons are lessened by 2 for the primary hand and 6 for the off hand.”
Q: I know you mentioned there are no rules in d20 Modern for specifying which is your off-hand, but as a rule of thumb, if you did have to use your off-hand instead of your primary hand to attack or perform some skill, would you have no penalty if
you had the TWF Feat, but at -4 if you didn't?
That is, if I ported this rule over to D&D, should I handle it as if the Feat covers the Ambidexterity and TWF Feats entirely?
A: Yes and yes.
6. Skills and Occupations
Q: The rules [for Occupations] say that you get [new Class skills] or [+1 bonus to class skills] at character creation?
A: This is the salient point. When you create a character, you choose that character's class at 1st level and the character's occupation. If a skill granted by that occupation is not a class skill for the character's 1st-level class, it becomes a permanent class skill. If it is a class skill for the character's 1st-level class, the character gets a +1 bonus on that skill.
Nothing that happens later in the character's career changes this.
Q: [With all this multi-classing & occupations, how can I tell when something is a class skill or a cross-class one?]
A: In d20 Modern (and D&D, and all other WotC d20 games), when you add a new level to your character, you buy skills according to that class. So when you add a level of Fast hero to your character, you purchase skills as a Fast hero. Fast hero class skills (and any permanent class skills you have from your starting occupation) cost a single point per rank; cross-class skills cost two points per rank. It doesn't matter what your previous classes are.
Just because a skill was a class skill for you at some previous level does NOT make it a class skill for you forever.
On the subject of starting occupation related skills, the skills associated with your starting occupation are always class skills for you, throughout your entire career. In addition, if an occupation skill is also a class skill for your starting class (the class you take at 1st level), you gain a +1 bonus to that skill.
7. The Perform Skill
Q: I'm sure this might have been covered previously, but as I read and reread that skill, I find myself saying, "okay!? So what is it supposed to do?" All it says is you make the audience go yay or nay! Nothing else? No get a wealth increase? No added bonus to Diplomacy or Gather Information or any Charisma based skills? What's the deal with it?
A: The standard uses of Perform have virtually no direct effect on game mechanics because, well, the standard forms of creative performance have little bearing on modern adventuring. So why is there a Perform skill? There are several answers:
First, many players like the option of having some skills that reflect character concept as well as game advantages. This principle also applies to skills like Craft (visual art) and Knowledge (art).
Second, there may be special mechanics for non-standard uses of the Perform skill in future products, either from us or from third-party publishers. (Think of the D&D bard class, or Lorne on Angel.) We wouldn't want to shut the door on that possibility by omitting any skill to cover creative performances.
Third, as the example on page 45 (top of the right-hand column) shows, you can use Perform (or other skills that don't have direct game mechanics applications) to your advantage if you're creative about it.
Perform does not affect Wealth, because a single performance isn't sufficient to really affect your Wealth bonus. If your character is a serious professional musician, however, who frequently performs for money, you might be able to talk your GM into letting you make a Perform check instead of a Profession check to increase your Wealth when you go up in level. . .
8. Prestige Classes
Q: I thought that I had read somewhere that prestige classes were also in d20 Modern. I believe this may have been in one of the preview sections on advanced classes where it explained that characters would go from the base classes to an advanced class and then to a prestige class.Am I wrong or did the d20 modern book just not include them?If the latter, will PrCs be included in other books?
A” Prestige classes are part of the d20 Modern system; however, none are included in the core book (which was published 64 pages over planned count, even after we cut a bunch of stuff we planned to include).
You will see prestige classes in later products, starting with Urban Arcana.
9. Abilities at first level
Q: [Can I take two feats at first level, with one being the prerequisite for another?]
A: As a general rule in the d20 system, anything that has prerequisites can be taken simultaneously with the prerequisites. If you have two feat slots (at 1st level, or some other level when you get a bonus feat and level feat at the same time), for
example, you can pick two feats for which one is a prereq of the other. Same is true for class talents.
(The exception is if the thing itself grants the prerequisites--for example, if a prestige class has certain skill prereq, you can't take the class and then use the class's skill points to buy the necessary skills.)
10. Armor Proficiency
Q: [The Armor Proficiency (Light) feat doesn’t make sense to me.]
A: Sorry it's taken me a couple days to post an answer on this topic. When I had a look at the text in the book, I was rather surprised to read what it actually said. I don't know what bizarre text transposition occurred, but what is written there is needlessly confusing. Before answering, I wanted to check with the other designers and make sure that it's supposed to work the way I thought it's supposed to work. Here's the feat as it should appear:
Armor Proficiency (Light)
You are proficient with light armor (see Table 4-9: Armor).
Benefit: When you wear a type of armor with which you are proficient, you get to add the armor's equipment bonus to your Defense. Also, the armor check penalty applies only to Balance, Climb, Escape Artist, Hide, Jump, Move Silently, and
Tumble checks.
Normal: A character who wears armor with which she is not proficient adds only the armor's nonproficient equipment bonus to her Defense. Also, she suffers its armor check penalty on attack rolls and on all skill checks that involve moving.
11. Start/Complete Full-Round Action
Q: If, for my turn's action, I chose to take a Double Move Action, can I first move my Speed (30 ft.) then, for my second Move Action, take a 'Start/Compete Full-Round Action' move action, and start a Full Attack action?
A: First, Start/Complete Full-Round Action should be an attack action, not a move action.
Second, the effect of the action always occurs in the second half. You don't break up the action over the two turns; you do the whole thing on the second turn.
Third, Start/Complete only applies to actions that you conduct continuously over the length of a turn--like casting a full-round spell. Discrete activities, like making attacks, cannot be used with the Start/Complete.
12. Scopes
Q: I am wondering if the power of a scope could be increased? There are many, many accoutns of snipers with scoped gun making shots of over a mile: much more than 1.5x the normal decent ability of a rifle. I also wonder wy scopes add no bonus to hit at certain ranges: I'm assuming this was just a balance issue, but i am curious, as scopes can greatly increase the ability to aim a gun.
A: The standard scope in the d20 Modern Roleplaying Game represents a typical 4x to 7x scope. There are more powerful scopes out there, but they should probably carry more severe penalties for use (such as requiring two or more attack actions to acquire the target, requiring a Concentration check to use, and/or the user being effectively blind to anything except the target).
[Note that the range increment for a standard scope is 1.5x standard, even though the scope is 4x to 7x. There's a lot that goes into range increments other than the quality of the sighting device. Higher-powered scopes might multiply the range
increment by 2 or even 2.5--but probably not more than that.]
[Note also that the benefit of the Far Shot feat stacks with the benefit of a scope. So even with a basic standard scope, a sniper could multiply the range increment by 2.25.]
As for bonuses, scopes already do that by increasing the range increment (and thus decreasing the range penalty). Imagine shooting a weapon with a range increment of 100 ft. at a target 550 ft. away. You suffer a -10 penalty on the attack. With a scope, your range increment becomes 150 ft., so you suffer only a -6 on the attack. That's like getting a +4 bonus compared to the weapon without a scope!
13. Beretta, Glock, and Machine Gun
Q: What was the consideration in giving a Beretta 92FS a 33% longer range than a glock 17? The weapons' ballistic characteristics are not all that different. Certainly not different enough to warrant that kind of difference.
A: Range increments are always measured in 10-foot steps. Thus, though the real ballistic characteristics might have suggested range increments of, say, 33 feet for the Glock and 37 feet for the Beretta (not that big a difference), rounding the numbers to the nearest 10 feet gives us 30 ft. and 40 ft., respectively.
That said, balance was also an issue. The Glock was given a +1 mastercraft bonus, due to its consistently excellent reputation for quality and accuracy. Even given that reputation, it's borderline that it deserves a +1 that other weapons don't get. We decided to err liberally in terms of the bonus; in exchange, we erred conservatively in its range increment.
[When I say "erred," I don't mean that we made an error. The real-world data on firearms and other devices is often a little contradictory and somewhat subjective; when we interpret the many sources of data, we have to decide which end of the
spectrum we're going to base our game numbers on.]
Q: I have been looking everything over, and I cannot find a single reason why anyone in their right mind would employ a machinegun. You need an extra feat for it, in the case of the M60, employing the same caliber ammo as a G3 somehow gives you less damage, and, with the quick reload feat you can do everything with an automatic 7.62mm rifle that a machinegun can only better.
A: OK, here's the scoop.
For starters, there's a typo. The M-60 should deal 2d10 damage, not 2d8.
Second, you don't actually need the Advanced Firearms feat to use an MG. When you use autofire, you target a 10' square with an effective Defense of 10. Without the feat, you take a -4 on the attack--making the roll, effectively, against a Defense of 14. That's still less than the Defense of many characters, so even an attacker without the feat can use autofire pretty effectively.
[So why ever take the Advance Firearms feat? Well, getting rid of the -4 is a small reason, but the big reason is that it's a prereq for other important feats, like Burst Fire.]
That leaves us with two advantages to using an M60 instead of a G3: longer range increment, and a large (possibly unlimited) ammo capacity.
These factors may not be very important in most roleplaying game encounters, which occur quickly and at close range. That's fine. If your characters are finding that the G3 suits them better in most of their encounters, that's probably pretty
realistic.
14. Escape Artist
Q: I think I came across a typo in the book. The Escape Artist skill states that, when opposing someone's Dex check to tie you up, Your opponent gets a +10 modifier to their check. The table, however, indicates that they get a +20 modifier. The SRD says +20 in both cases. I'm guessing that, as the sources that say +20 outnumber those that say +10, the official ruling is +20. However, I just thought that you (Charles) should know about this typo for your errata book.
A: Yes, we discovered this a while back. In fact, we discovered it early enough to fix it in the SRD! (So, as you might gather, the SRD is correct: the bonus is +20.)
15. Ignore Hardness
Q: [I am finding some inconsistency with the ignore hardness values, are these correct? Should this be 2/3/4 or maybe 2/4/6?)?]
A: Typo. All the ignore hardness values should be 1 point higher than they are. It should be 2/4/6.
16. Tear Gas Grenades
Q: Looking through the explosives on pg 104-106, I notice that every other type of explosive lists a # per purchase. I assume that the tear gas grenades are 6 per like the other grenades, but I thought I'd point out that that information was omitted.
A: Yes, the line that states "The purchase DC given is for a box of six grenades." was inadvertantly left out.
Q: Exactly what does tear gas do? The description in the book states that it forces all within its area of effect to make a Fort save (DC 25) or be blinded for 2d6 rounds. The SRD, however, states that it forces a Fort save (DC 15) to avoid being nauseated for 1d6 rounds. Now, obviously these two effects are pretty different; which one is correct?
A: The SRD. It's a DC 15 save to avoid being nauseated for 1d6 rounds. We discovered this error too late to make the change in the book (it was at the printer already), but we fixed it in the SRD.
17. Pilot Skill
Q: [I think there is a typo on the] top of page 70 [which currently says] "require the corresponding Aircraft Operation feat, or else you take a -4 penalty on the Drive checks." [It] Looks like a copy/paste from the Drive skill, but shouldn't the word "Drive" be changed to "Pilot"? Just to note that none of the noted errata are going to lessen my complete enjoyment of this rulebook. Thanks for the excellent product!
A: Thanks for the nice comments, and thanks for pointing out the typo! I've made a note of it.
18. Tumble
Q: In the Tumble Skill description the DC to tumble past Opponents is 20, the same as Tumbling Through Opponents. I assume this is a typo and not a change from the PBH's DC 15?
A: D'oh! Actually, both DCs are wrong. As in the PHB, it should be 15 to Tumble past, and 25 to Tumble through.
19. Multiple Double Taps
Q: If using two guns, can you Double Tap with both weapons in the same round?
A: Sure. And of you have multiple attacks (due to a high BAB), you can double-tap on each attack. The restrictions are that you suffer the -2 modifier on each attack (which can get pretty steep if you're stacking it on top of two-weapon fighting penalties) and that you have to have enough ammo in the weapon.
20. Bat Moreau
Q: Should the description on page 248 include an entry for Blindsight? The Light Sensitivy entry notes that they can rely on their blindsight ability, yet it's not actually noted...
A: Yes, the bat moreau entry should have a paragraph on its blindsight ability. Normally, we would include such a paragraph, but it was cut for space. (This particular chapter was over page count by 8 pages, and that's after we had decided to make the book 64 pages longer than originally planned.)
We felt we could get away with the cut because the blindsight ability was already noted above (the last sentence in the first paragraph of the bat moreau entry), and because the blindsight ability is fully explained on page 226. (Normally we wouldn't force you to do that page turning to search it out, but as I said we were desperate to get everything to fit!)
21. Standing From Prone/Nip-up
Q: [There seems to be a conflict in the prone rules on page 135. Do you suffer an AOO when standing up from prone, unlike in D&D?]
A: Standing up from prone provokes an attack of opportunity. The table on page 135 is incorrect. [By the way, the Daredevil's nip-up ability should say "as a free action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity."]
22. Benelli 12-gauge Shotgun
Q: [I see mention of a Benelli 12-gaughe shotgun in the book but there are no stats for it.]
A: The Benelli was inadvertantly left off of Table 4-4. Its stats are:
Benelli 121 M1 (12-gauge shotgun)
Damage: 2d8
Critical: 20
Damage Type: Ballistic
Range Increment: 40 ft.
Rate of Fire: S
Magazine: 7 int.
Size: Large
Weight: 8 lb.
Purchase DC: 17
Restriction: Lic (+1)
23. Vehicle Feats
Q: [What types of Vehicles does each vehicle feat apply to, and what are the prerequisites for things like Vehicle Dodge?]
A: In general, if a feat doesn't specify a type of vehicle, it applies to all vehicles. For example, have a look at Force Stop: it specifies surface vehicles.
That said, the prereq for Vehicle Dodge should be Drive 6 ranks or Pilot 6 ranks.
24. Agile Riposte
Q: [In the Agile Riposte description, it says “with a melee weapon”. Can you use things like Combat Martial Arts with Agile Riposte, and do the attack of opportunity rules change for this?]
Agile Riposte should simply say ". . . you may make an attack of opportunity against that opponent." The words "with a melee weapon" are extraneous and shouldn't be there.
The attack of opportunity granted by Agile Riposte is no different than any other attack of opportunity. All the normal rules and restrictions for AoOs apply.
So, yes, someone with Combat Martial Arts or a natural attack can take advantage of Agile Riposte.
25. Shadow Enemy
Q: The description for the Shadow Slayer's 'Shadow Enemy' ability is confusing. At first it mentions a +2 bonus on certain skills checks, and on damage, then it goes on to say 'he gets a +1 bonus... immediately, and the bonus increases by +1 with each new level he attains'. Which is true?
A: It's +1. The +2 in the first paragraph is a typo.
Q: On a related note, does the +2 to damage now work on undead, unlike the ranger's similar ability?
A: The bonus applies to the shadow slayer's chosen type of favored enemy. If the shadow slayer chooses undead, it applies to undead.
26. Soldier/Martial Artist Stacking
Q: Combining the Martial Artist with the Soldier gives you Improved Combat Martial Arts, which increases unarmed threat range to 19-20, and the Soldier's Improved Critical, which bumps it up by one. This makes my threat range 18-20, correct?
A: If I understand your question correctly, you're asking if the 19-20 threat range from Improved Combat Martial Arts stacks with the increase in threat range from the soldier's Improved Critical class ability. (Assuming, of course, that unarmed strike is the weapon chosen by the soldier for his weapon specialization class ability.)
The answer is Yes. A 5th-level soldier who chose unarmed strike as his weapon specialization back at 2nd level has a threat range of 18-20 if he also has the Improved Combat Martial Arts feat.
Q: Later, add Advanced Martial artist, meaning that criticals are 18-20/x3. Then, add Knockout Punch and Improved Knockout Punch. Improved Knockout punch gives you a x3 critical. Does this mean that you use the d20-standard and make that auto-critical x4 nonlethal when attacking a flat-footed opponent?
A: No. The benefits from the Combat Martial Arts feats do no stack with those of the Brawl feats.
27. Wealth Loopholes and Licensing
Q: [I have a problem. Someone reduces their wealth mod to 0. Then, they roll a check to buy something with DC around 7 or 8. They immediately turn around and sell it, increasing their mod by 1. Then they can take 20 to buy something with purchase DC up to 21. [. . .] The only thing I can think of to counter this would be to limit the amount of game time available to make purchases by making events happen in-game to interrupt that.
A: I recommend strictly enforcing the rule under Shopping and Time, bolstering it with the following house rule: "When your Wealth bonus is +0, all objects, no matter how common, take a number of hours equal to their purchase DC to buy."
Also, I'd add the rule that selling objects also takes a number of hours equal to their normal (not sale value) purchase DC.
Then I'd get your adventure started, so that any player who wants to screw around with buying and selling starts missing out on the action.
Q: By keeping one wealthy party member, when anyone's wealth decreases, that wealthy character can help anyone else recover their wealth modifier to nearly the level of the wealthy character by this method: The poor character has some cheap token possession, and sells it to the wealthier for a vastly inflated price, but still beneath 15 and beneath the wealthier character's wealth bonus. Thus, the wealthier character loses nothing, and the poorer gains.
A: The rules for buying and selling don't change just because it occurs between characters. If a hero wants to sell something to his friend, the sale value is equal to the normal purchase DC for the item minus 3. The players can't simply decide to
change that, no more than they can arbitrarily decide to change the DC of any other check.
A rich character can help his friends in a number of other, perfectly acceptable ways. He can buy things and give them to his friends (if his Wealth bonus is above +14, he can buy his friends an infinite supply of items with purchase DCs of 14 or less). He can make aid another checks, giving his friends +2 on their rolls. Those ways of helping out are fine.
Q: [Can’t] A lucky player can make money by doing the following:
- purchase something 12 or more greater than their wealth (with take 20), thereby reducing their weatlh by a dice roll (1d6+1 or 2d6+1 - note the item would have to be at least DC 15, since you can't take 20 if you have +0 wealth) - sell the same item and recover a dice roll of wealth (since the sale value would be at least 11 higher than their wealth, after deductions from buying it)? If the sale dice roll (1d6+1 or 2d6+1, or whatever) is higher than their buying roll, they will make money out of this.
A: Remember that when you sell something, its sale value is 3 points less than its normal purchase DC. That makes it tough (though not impossible) to use this method. And because the gains are (at best) the same as the losses, this is a very
risky and unreliable way to try to cheat the system. . .
Q: Does one license purchase cover all items of that restriction level, or is a separate license needed for each item?
A: A single license covers every item on a given table that has a restriction level equal to or lower than the level of the license.
For example, if you purchase a Beretta 92F (Licensed restriction level) and an appropriate license, that license covers any additional items from Table 4-4 that also have the Licensed restriction level. If you later wanted to purchase an AKM (Restricted restriction level), you would have to also purchase the higher-level license for it. You could then purchase any other item from Table 4-4 of Restricted or lower level without needing another license.
One exception to this rule: Table 4-10: General Equipment. Every item on this table is licensed separately, except items that are grouped together. For example, a black box requires a separate license from demolitions kit. However, a single license covers both pistol and rifle suppressors, since they're grouped together under "suppressors."
[One final note: The lock release gun and lockpick set were supposed to be grouped together under "Lockpicks"; they are both covered by the same license.]
I did not compile this information to begin with (for that you can thank a person who goes by the handle "Loyal"). However, I did edit it a bit for format, and add in some apparently missing questions, guessing as best I could on what the question was, based on the context provided by the answer.
I doubt this is a complete list so far, but it isn't bad. If anyone knows of any additional rulings, please post them here and I will add them.
D20 Modern FAQ Version 1.1
1. Contents
Contents 1
Brawl, Combat Martial Arts, Prone 2
Brass Knuckles 3
Shadow Slayer 4
Two Weapon Fighting 5
Skills and Occupations 6
The Perform Skill 7
Prestige Classes 8
Abilities at First Level 9
Armor Proficiency 10
Start/Complete Full-Round Action 11
Scopes 12
Beretta, Glock, and Machine Gun 13
Escape Artist 14
Ignore Hardness 15
Tear Gas Grenades 16
Pilot Skill 17
Tumble 18
Multiple Double Taps 19
Bat Moreau 20
Standing From Prone/Nip-up 21
Benelli 12-gauge Shotgun 22
Vehicle Feats 23
Agile Riposte 24
Shadow Enemy 25
Soldier/Martial Artist Stacking 26
Wealth Loopholes and Licensing 27
2. Brawl, Combat Martial Arts, Prone
Q: There are several feats like "Brawl" that raise the amount of non-lethal damage you do when you make an unarmed attack. My question is if these translate into lethal damage if I have the combat martial arts feat. In other words, if I have combat martial arts and brawl, do I deal 1D6 lethal or nonlethal, my choice. Or it that I can deal 1d4 lethal (combat martial arts) or 1d6 nonlethal (brawl)?
A: At any given time, you use one feat or the other. In other words:
If you want to deal nonlethal damage, and don't care if you're considered armed or unarmed, use the Brawl feat to deal 1d6 damage.
If you want to deal lethal damage, and/or you want to make an unarmed attack of opportunity (or not provoke an AoO when making your unarmed attack), use the Combat Martial Arts feat and deal only 1d4 damage.
Q: Also, the paragraph on "standing up" from prone on page 137 states that you provoke an attack of opportunity when you stand up from prone. The chart on page 135 says you don't. You didn't in the regular Dungeons in Dragons game. Is the
paragraph on 137 just a typo?
A: The table is incorrect. Standing up from prone provokes an attack of opportunity.
[By the way, the Daredevil's nip-up ability should say "as a free action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity."]
Q: "Start/Complete Full Round Acton" is a move action. Does this mean I can attack and use a move action to start a full attack. For instance if my BAB was +6/+1. Could I attack at +6, then as a move action start a full round attack (attacking again at +6)then the next round finish my full attack attacking at +1, then attack again at +6 as my attack action for round 2? If this is not the case what are the specific restrictions on which full round actions I can take?
A: D'oh! Start/complete a full-round action should be an attack action! Yikes!
Furthermore, it should be clearer that when you split up a full-round action like this, it doesn't take effect until the completion round. Thus, if you used it to make a full attack, you wouldn't make any of the attacks until the second round.
3. Brass Knuckles
Q: A few question about how brass knuckles operate. It states in their description that brass knuckles let you do lethal with an unarmed attack but that the attack is otherwise considered unarmed.
Also it states that if you have the brawl feat, that brass knuckles increase the base damage delt by +1 and turn the damage lethal.
SO...my two questions are this. Does the first part mean that even though people with brass knuckles can deal lethal, they still provoke attacks of opportunity when they attack.
A: Attacks made with brass knuckles provoke attacks of opportunity just like normal unarmed attacks. Also, you cannot make attacks of opportunity with brass knuckles (just as you cannot make AoO with normal unarmed attacks).
Q: With brawl and brass knuckles is the +1 on top of the additional damage from brawl or in stead of. In other words, with brawl and brass knuckles: do I deal 1d6+1 lethat damage or 1D3+1 lethal?
A: 1d3+1.
Q: Does improved brawl or combat martial arts have any effect on using brass knuckles. Does improved brawl increase brass knuckle damage at all.
A: No and no.
Q: Do brass knuckles do +1 damage when used by a person with combat martial arts or are brass knuckles essentially useless to someone with combat martial arts (because they can already do lethal)
A: They offer no advantage when used with the Combat Martial Arts feats.
4. Shadow Slayer
Q: Does the Slayer Weapon enhancement bonus work only against creatures of Shadow or does the weapon become for all intents and purposes a +X magic weapon?
A: The latter. A +1 slayer weapon is a +1 weapon for that Shadow Slayer. Hopefully, he'll use it to go kill evil shadow creatures--but the bonus is in effect no matter what he uses it against.
5. Two Weapon Fighting
Q: Wait a minute. Let me get this straight. By acquiring just one feat -- TWF feat -- I can use one weapon in my off hand at no penalty, even if I'm not fighting with two weapons (let's say hypothetically, I injured my primary hand)?
A: The d20 rules never specify which hand is your primary hand. (There's no place on the character sheet to specify whether your character is right-handed or left-handed, and most players probably never even give it a thought.) Furthermore, there are no rules for hit location, or for being specially incapacitated by damage. In short, the d20 system simply never deals with what happens if you use a single weapon in your non-primary hand. So that's not really an issue.
More importantly, we realized that the Ambidexterity feat really only served to make two-weapon fighting an ability that costs two feats instead of one. This seemed like a needless cost and a needless complication. So we got rid of it. The advantages of two-weapon fighting are still pretty marginal (in my mind, anyway); it's really more an issue of style than of substance. Most of the players who choose to fight with two weapons do so because it's pretty cool, not because they gain any real edge in combat. And that's as it should be--players get options that suit their tastes, while the game remains balanced and has the right feel.
The text and table on page 138 are correct. The text of the Two-Weapon Fighting feat (page 88) is incorrect; it should say: “Benefit: Your penalties for fighting with two weapons are lessened by 2 for the primary hand and 6 for the off hand.”
Q: I know you mentioned there are no rules in d20 Modern for specifying which is your off-hand, but as a rule of thumb, if you did have to use your off-hand instead of your primary hand to attack or perform some skill, would you have no penalty if
you had the TWF Feat, but at -4 if you didn't?
That is, if I ported this rule over to D&D, should I handle it as if the Feat covers the Ambidexterity and TWF Feats entirely?
A: Yes and yes.
6. Skills and Occupations
Q: The rules [for Occupations] say that you get [new Class skills] or [+1 bonus to class skills] at character creation?
A: This is the salient point. When you create a character, you choose that character's class at 1st level and the character's occupation. If a skill granted by that occupation is not a class skill for the character's 1st-level class, it becomes a permanent class skill. If it is a class skill for the character's 1st-level class, the character gets a +1 bonus on that skill.
Nothing that happens later in the character's career changes this.
Q: [With all this multi-classing & occupations, how can I tell when something is a class skill or a cross-class one?]
A: In d20 Modern (and D&D, and all other WotC d20 games), when you add a new level to your character, you buy skills according to that class. So when you add a level of Fast hero to your character, you purchase skills as a Fast hero. Fast hero class skills (and any permanent class skills you have from your starting occupation) cost a single point per rank; cross-class skills cost two points per rank. It doesn't matter what your previous classes are.
Just because a skill was a class skill for you at some previous level does NOT make it a class skill for you forever.
On the subject of starting occupation related skills, the skills associated with your starting occupation are always class skills for you, throughout your entire career. In addition, if an occupation skill is also a class skill for your starting class (the class you take at 1st level), you gain a +1 bonus to that skill.
7. The Perform Skill
Q: I'm sure this might have been covered previously, but as I read and reread that skill, I find myself saying, "okay!? So what is it supposed to do?" All it says is you make the audience go yay or nay! Nothing else? No get a wealth increase? No added bonus to Diplomacy or Gather Information or any Charisma based skills? What's the deal with it?
A: The standard uses of Perform have virtually no direct effect on game mechanics because, well, the standard forms of creative performance have little bearing on modern adventuring. So why is there a Perform skill? There are several answers:
First, many players like the option of having some skills that reflect character concept as well as game advantages. This principle also applies to skills like Craft (visual art) and Knowledge (art).
Second, there may be special mechanics for non-standard uses of the Perform skill in future products, either from us or from third-party publishers. (Think of the D&D bard class, or Lorne on Angel.) We wouldn't want to shut the door on that possibility by omitting any skill to cover creative performances.
Third, as the example on page 45 (top of the right-hand column) shows, you can use Perform (or other skills that don't have direct game mechanics applications) to your advantage if you're creative about it.
Perform does not affect Wealth, because a single performance isn't sufficient to really affect your Wealth bonus. If your character is a serious professional musician, however, who frequently performs for money, you might be able to talk your GM into letting you make a Perform check instead of a Profession check to increase your Wealth when you go up in level. . .
8. Prestige Classes
Q: I thought that I had read somewhere that prestige classes were also in d20 Modern. I believe this may have been in one of the preview sections on advanced classes where it explained that characters would go from the base classes to an advanced class and then to a prestige class.Am I wrong or did the d20 modern book just not include them?If the latter, will PrCs be included in other books?
A” Prestige classes are part of the d20 Modern system; however, none are included in the core book (which was published 64 pages over planned count, even after we cut a bunch of stuff we planned to include).
You will see prestige classes in later products, starting with Urban Arcana.
9. Abilities at first level
Q: [Can I take two feats at first level, with one being the prerequisite for another?]
A: As a general rule in the d20 system, anything that has prerequisites can be taken simultaneously with the prerequisites. If you have two feat slots (at 1st level, or some other level when you get a bonus feat and level feat at the same time), for
example, you can pick two feats for which one is a prereq of the other. Same is true for class talents.
(The exception is if the thing itself grants the prerequisites--for example, if a prestige class has certain skill prereq, you can't take the class and then use the class's skill points to buy the necessary skills.)
10. Armor Proficiency
Q: [The Armor Proficiency (Light) feat doesn’t make sense to me.]
A: Sorry it's taken me a couple days to post an answer on this topic. When I had a look at the text in the book, I was rather surprised to read what it actually said. I don't know what bizarre text transposition occurred, but what is written there is needlessly confusing. Before answering, I wanted to check with the other designers and make sure that it's supposed to work the way I thought it's supposed to work. Here's the feat as it should appear:
Armor Proficiency (Light)
You are proficient with light armor (see Table 4-9: Armor).
Benefit: When you wear a type of armor with which you are proficient, you get to add the armor's equipment bonus to your Defense. Also, the armor check penalty applies only to Balance, Climb, Escape Artist, Hide, Jump, Move Silently, and
Tumble checks.
Normal: A character who wears armor with which she is not proficient adds only the armor's nonproficient equipment bonus to her Defense. Also, she suffers its armor check penalty on attack rolls and on all skill checks that involve moving.
11. Start/Complete Full-Round Action
Q: If, for my turn's action, I chose to take a Double Move Action, can I first move my Speed (30 ft.) then, for my second Move Action, take a 'Start/Compete Full-Round Action' move action, and start a Full Attack action?
A: First, Start/Complete Full-Round Action should be an attack action, not a move action.
Second, the effect of the action always occurs in the second half. You don't break up the action over the two turns; you do the whole thing on the second turn.
Third, Start/Complete only applies to actions that you conduct continuously over the length of a turn--like casting a full-round spell. Discrete activities, like making attacks, cannot be used with the Start/Complete.
12. Scopes
Q: I am wondering if the power of a scope could be increased? There are many, many accoutns of snipers with scoped gun making shots of over a mile: much more than 1.5x the normal decent ability of a rifle. I also wonder wy scopes add no bonus to hit at certain ranges: I'm assuming this was just a balance issue, but i am curious, as scopes can greatly increase the ability to aim a gun.
A: The standard scope in the d20 Modern Roleplaying Game represents a typical 4x to 7x scope. There are more powerful scopes out there, but they should probably carry more severe penalties for use (such as requiring two or more attack actions to acquire the target, requiring a Concentration check to use, and/or the user being effectively blind to anything except the target).
[Note that the range increment for a standard scope is 1.5x standard, even though the scope is 4x to 7x. There's a lot that goes into range increments other than the quality of the sighting device. Higher-powered scopes might multiply the range
increment by 2 or even 2.5--but probably not more than that.]
[Note also that the benefit of the Far Shot feat stacks with the benefit of a scope. So even with a basic standard scope, a sniper could multiply the range increment by 2.25.]
As for bonuses, scopes already do that by increasing the range increment (and thus decreasing the range penalty). Imagine shooting a weapon with a range increment of 100 ft. at a target 550 ft. away. You suffer a -10 penalty on the attack. With a scope, your range increment becomes 150 ft., so you suffer only a -6 on the attack. That's like getting a +4 bonus compared to the weapon without a scope!
13. Beretta, Glock, and Machine Gun
Q: What was the consideration in giving a Beretta 92FS a 33% longer range than a glock 17? The weapons' ballistic characteristics are not all that different. Certainly not different enough to warrant that kind of difference.
A: Range increments are always measured in 10-foot steps. Thus, though the real ballistic characteristics might have suggested range increments of, say, 33 feet for the Glock and 37 feet for the Beretta (not that big a difference), rounding the numbers to the nearest 10 feet gives us 30 ft. and 40 ft., respectively.
That said, balance was also an issue. The Glock was given a +1 mastercraft bonus, due to its consistently excellent reputation for quality and accuracy. Even given that reputation, it's borderline that it deserves a +1 that other weapons don't get. We decided to err liberally in terms of the bonus; in exchange, we erred conservatively in its range increment.
[When I say "erred," I don't mean that we made an error. The real-world data on firearms and other devices is often a little contradictory and somewhat subjective; when we interpret the many sources of data, we have to decide which end of the
spectrum we're going to base our game numbers on.]
Q: I have been looking everything over, and I cannot find a single reason why anyone in their right mind would employ a machinegun. You need an extra feat for it, in the case of the M60, employing the same caliber ammo as a G3 somehow gives you less damage, and, with the quick reload feat you can do everything with an automatic 7.62mm rifle that a machinegun can only better.
A: OK, here's the scoop.
For starters, there's a typo. The M-60 should deal 2d10 damage, not 2d8.
Second, you don't actually need the Advanced Firearms feat to use an MG. When you use autofire, you target a 10' square with an effective Defense of 10. Without the feat, you take a -4 on the attack--making the roll, effectively, against a Defense of 14. That's still less than the Defense of many characters, so even an attacker without the feat can use autofire pretty effectively.
[So why ever take the Advance Firearms feat? Well, getting rid of the -4 is a small reason, but the big reason is that it's a prereq for other important feats, like Burst Fire.]
That leaves us with two advantages to using an M60 instead of a G3: longer range increment, and a large (possibly unlimited) ammo capacity.
These factors may not be very important in most roleplaying game encounters, which occur quickly and at close range. That's fine. If your characters are finding that the G3 suits them better in most of their encounters, that's probably pretty
realistic.
14. Escape Artist
Q: I think I came across a typo in the book. The Escape Artist skill states that, when opposing someone's Dex check to tie you up, Your opponent gets a +10 modifier to their check. The table, however, indicates that they get a +20 modifier. The SRD says +20 in both cases. I'm guessing that, as the sources that say +20 outnumber those that say +10, the official ruling is +20. However, I just thought that you (Charles) should know about this typo for your errata book.
A: Yes, we discovered this a while back. In fact, we discovered it early enough to fix it in the SRD! (So, as you might gather, the SRD is correct: the bonus is +20.)
15. Ignore Hardness
Q: [I am finding some inconsistency with the ignore hardness values, are these correct? Should this be 2/3/4 or maybe 2/4/6?)?]
A: Typo. All the ignore hardness values should be 1 point higher than they are. It should be 2/4/6.
16. Tear Gas Grenades
Q: Looking through the explosives on pg 104-106, I notice that every other type of explosive lists a # per purchase. I assume that the tear gas grenades are 6 per like the other grenades, but I thought I'd point out that that information was omitted.
A: Yes, the line that states "The purchase DC given is for a box of six grenades." was inadvertantly left out.
Q: Exactly what does tear gas do? The description in the book states that it forces all within its area of effect to make a Fort save (DC 25) or be blinded for 2d6 rounds. The SRD, however, states that it forces a Fort save (DC 15) to avoid being nauseated for 1d6 rounds. Now, obviously these two effects are pretty different; which one is correct?
A: The SRD. It's a DC 15 save to avoid being nauseated for 1d6 rounds. We discovered this error too late to make the change in the book (it was at the printer already), but we fixed it in the SRD.
17. Pilot Skill
Q: [I think there is a typo on the] top of page 70 [which currently says] "require the corresponding Aircraft Operation feat, or else you take a -4 penalty on the Drive checks." [It] Looks like a copy/paste from the Drive skill, but shouldn't the word "Drive" be changed to "Pilot"? Just to note that none of the noted errata are going to lessen my complete enjoyment of this rulebook. Thanks for the excellent product!
A: Thanks for the nice comments, and thanks for pointing out the typo! I've made a note of it.
18. Tumble
Q: In the Tumble Skill description the DC to tumble past Opponents is 20, the same as Tumbling Through Opponents. I assume this is a typo and not a change from the PBH's DC 15?
A: D'oh! Actually, both DCs are wrong. As in the PHB, it should be 15 to Tumble past, and 25 to Tumble through.
19. Multiple Double Taps
Q: If using two guns, can you Double Tap with both weapons in the same round?
A: Sure. And of you have multiple attacks (due to a high BAB), you can double-tap on each attack. The restrictions are that you suffer the -2 modifier on each attack (which can get pretty steep if you're stacking it on top of two-weapon fighting penalties) and that you have to have enough ammo in the weapon.
20. Bat Moreau
Q: Should the description on page 248 include an entry for Blindsight? The Light Sensitivy entry notes that they can rely on their blindsight ability, yet it's not actually noted...
A: Yes, the bat moreau entry should have a paragraph on its blindsight ability. Normally, we would include such a paragraph, but it was cut for space. (This particular chapter was over page count by 8 pages, and that's after we had decided to make the book 64 pages longer than originally planned.)
We felt we could get away with the cut because the blindsight ability was already noted above (the last sentence in the first paragraph of the bat moreau entry), and because the blindsight ability is fully explained on page 226. (Normally we wouldn't force you to do that page turning to search it out, but as I said we were desperate to get everything to fit!)
21. Standing From Prone/Nip-up
Q: [There seems to be a conflict in the prone rules on page 135. Do you suffer an AOO when standing up from prone, unlike in D&D?]
A: Standing up from prone provokes an attack of opportunity. The table on page 135 is incorrect. [By the way, the Daredevil's nip-up ability should say "as a free action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity."]
22. Benelli 12-gauge Shotgun
Q: [I see mention of a Benelli 12-gaughe shotgun in the book but there are no stats for it.]
A: The Benelli was inadvertantly left off of Table 4-4. Its stats are:
Benelli 121 M1 (12-gauge shotgun)
Damage: 2d8
Critical: 20
Damage Type: Ballistic
Range Increment: 40 ft.
Rate of Fire: S
Magazine: 7 int.
Size: Large
Weight: 8 lb.
Purchase DC: 17
Restriction: Lic (+1)
23. Vehicle Feats
Q: [What types of Vehicles does each vehicle feat apply to, and what are the prerequisites for things like Vehicle Dodge?]
A: In general, if a feat doesn't specify a type of vehicle, it applies to all vehicles. For example, have a look at Force Stop: it specifies surface vehicles.
That said, the prereq for Vehicle Dodge should be Drive 6 ranks or Pilot 6 ranks.
24. Agile Riposte
Q: [In the Agile Riposte description, it says “with a melee weapon”. Can you use things like Combat Martial Arts with Agile Riposte, and do the attack of opportunity rules change for this?]
Agile Riposte should simply say ". . . you may make an attack of opportunity against that opponent." The words "with a melee weapon" are extraneous and shouldn't be there.
The attack of opportunity granted by Agile Riposte is no different than any other attack of opportunity. All the normal rules and restrictions for AoOs apply.
So, yes, someone with Combat Martial Arts or a natural attack can take advantage of Agile Riposte.
25. Shadow Enemy
Q: The description for the Shadow Slayer's 'Shadow Enemy' ability is confusing. At first it mentions a +2 bonus on certain skills checks, and on damage, then it goes on to say 'he gets a +1 bonus... immediately, and the bonus increases by +1 with each new level he attains'. Which is true?
A: It's +1. The +2 in the first paragraph is a typo.
Q: On a related note, does the +2 to damage now work on undead, unlike the ranger's similar ability?
A: The bonus applies to the shadow slayer's chosen type of favored enemy. If the shadow slayer chooses undead, it applies to undead.
26. Soldier/Martial Artist Stacking
Q: Combining the Martial Artist with the Soldier gives you Improved Combat Martial Arts, which increases unarmed threat range to 19-20, and the Soldier's Improved Critical, which bumps it up by one. This makes my threat range 18-20, correct?
A: If I understand your question correctly, you're asking if the 19-20 threat range from Improved Combat Martial Arts stacks with the increase in threat range from the soldier's Improved Critical class ability. (Assuming, of course, that unarmed strike is the weapon chosen by the soldier for his weapon specialization class ability.)
The answer is Yes. A 5th-level soldier who chose unarmed strike as his weapon specialization back at 2nd level has a threat range of 18-20 if he also has the Improved Combat Martial Arts feat.
Q: Later, add Advanced Martial artist, meaning that criticals are 18-20/x3. Then, add Knockout Punch and Improved Knockout Punch. Improved Knockout punch gives you a x3 critical. Does this mean that you use the d20-standard and make that auto-critical x4 nonlethal when attacking a flat-footed opponent?
A: No. The benefits from the Combat Martial Arts feats do no stack with those of the Brawl feats.
27. Wealth Loopholes and Licensing
Q: [I have a problem. Someone reduces their wealth mod to 0. Then, they roll a check to buy something with DC around 7 or 8. They immediately turn around and sell it, increasing their mod by 1. Then they can take 20 to buy something with purchase DC up to 21. [. . .] The only thing I can think of to counter this would be to limit the amount of game time available to make purchases by making events happen in-game to interrupt that.
A: I recommend strictly enforcing the rule under Shopping and Time, bolstering it with the following house rule: "When your Wealth bonus is +0, all objects, no matter how common, take a number of hours equal to their purchase DC to buy."
Also, I'd add the rule that selling objects also takes a number of hours equal to their normal (not sale value) purchase DC.
Then I'd get your adventure started, so that any player who wants to screw around with buying and selling starts missing out on the action.
Q: By keeping one wealthy party member, when anyone's wealth decreases, that wealthy character can help anyone else recover their wealth modifier to nearly the level of the wealthy character by this method: The poor character has some cheap token possession, and sells it to the wealthier for a vastly inflated price, but still beneath 15 and beneath the wealthier character's wealth bonus. Thus, the wealthier character loses nothing, and the poorer gains.
A: The rules for buying and selling don't change just because it occurs between characters. If a hero wants to sell something to his friend, the sale value is equal to the normal purchase DC for the item minus 3. The players can't simply decide to
change that, no more than they can arbitrarily decide to change the DC of any other check.
A rich character can help his friends in a number of other, perfectly acceptable ways. He can buy things and give them to his friends (if his Wealth bonus is above +14, he can buy his friends an infinite supply of items with purchase DCs of 14 or less). He can make aid another checks, giving his friends +2 on their rolls. Those ways of helping out are fine.
Q: [Can’t] A lucky player can make money by doing the following:
- purchase something 12 or more greater than their wealth (with take 20), thereby reducing their weatlh by a dice roll (1d6+1 or 2d6+1 - note the item would have to be at least DC 15, since you can't take 20 if you have +0 wealth) - sell the same item and recover a dice roll of wealth (since the sale value would be at least 11 higher than their wealth, after deductions from buying it)? If the sale dice roll (1d6+1 or 2d6+1, or whatever) is higher than their buying roll, they will make money out of this.
A: Remember that when you sell something, its sale value is 3 points less than its normal purchase DC. That makes it tough (though not impossible) to use this method. And because the gains are (at best) the same as the losses, this is a very
risky and unreliable way to try to cheat the system. . .
Q: Does one license purchase cover all items of that restriction level, or is a separate license needed for each item?
A: A single license covers every item on a given table that has a restriction level equal to or lower than the level of the license.
For example, if you purchase a Beretta 92F (Licensed restriction level) and an appropriate license, that license covers any additional items from Table 4-4 that also have the Licensed restriction level. If you later wanted to purchase an AKM (Restricted restriction level), you would have to also purchase the higher-level license for it. You could then purchase any other item from Table 4-4 of Restricted or lower level without needing another license.
One exception to this rule: Table 4-10: General Equipment. Every item on this table is licensed separately, except items that are grouped together. For example, a black box requires a separate license from demolitions kit. However, a single license covers both pistol and rifle suppressors, since they're grouped together under "suppressors."
[One final note: The lock release gun and lockpick set were supposed to be grouped together under "Lockpicks"; they are both covered by the same license.]
Last edited: