WonkaMania
First Post
Hello there everyone!
I have a question about the Dastana. It's listed under "shields" in the Arms and Equipment Guide, and it's description says that it is a pair of metal bracers that can be worn (with either padded, leather, or chain shirt) to provide an additional armor bonus that stacks with both the foundation armor and any shield worn. (It grants a +1 AC bonus)
Now, the question is, is the Dastana considered a "shield"? Can a character that does NOT use a shield, but wears Dastana, get them magically enchanted? Therefore, instead of having a Small Shield +2, you could have Dastana +2? (and/or one with shield special abilities, say instead of a Small Shield +1 Ghost Touch, you could have a Dastana +1 Ghost Touch?)
Ok, so here's where it gets tricky. The description of the Dastana says that it provides an armor bonus that stacks with both the foundation armor and any shield worn. So can someone cheaply build up there AC by having a Chain Shirt +1, Small Sheild +1, and a Dastana +1 and have all of those stack? (I personally think this makes it too powerful, but I'd like to know what the "official" rules are)
If not, then what COULD you do? Would you just take the Armor bonus and either the magical bonus of EITHER the Shield or the Dastana, whichever one was higher? (kind of like wearing 5 magic rings, you only gain the benefit from 2 of them, but you can still have the others on your fingers) Or could you gain the benefit from both the magical shield and dastana, but not magical armor?
The reason I'm asking is that I have a character in my campaign that does not use shields but would like to wear Dastana. I'm wondering if the official rules would allow me to give out "magical dastana" to the her that would increase her armor class, and eventually, magical dastana that have shield bonus abilites. Also, there is another character that fights with a two handed weapon, wears chain shirt and has the Improved Buckler Defense feat from Complete Warrior and was wondering if he could pick up Dastana also and then get them magically enchanted.
Please let me know what the rules say about all of this! Thanks!
~Wonka
I have a question about the Dastana. It's listed under "shields" in the Arms and Equipment Guide, and it's description says that it is a pair of metal bracers that can be worn (with either padded, leather, or chain shirt) to provide an additional armor bonus that stacks with both the foundation armor and any shield worn. (It grants a +1 AC bonus)
Now, the question is, is the Dastana considered a "shield"? Can a character that does NOT use a shield, but wears Dastana, get them magically enchanted? Therefore, instead of having a Small Shield +2, you could have Dastana +2? (and/or one with shield special abilities, say instead of a Small Shield +1 Ghost Touch, you could have a Dastana +1 Ghost Touch?)
Ok, so here's where it gets tricky. The description of the Dastana says that it provides an armor bonus that stacks with both the foundation armor and any shield worn. So can someone cheaply build up there AC by having a Chain Shirt +1, Small Sheild +1, and a Dastana +1 and have all of those stack? (I personally think this makes it too powerful, but I'd like to know what the "official" rules are)
If not, then what COULD you do? Would you just take the Armor bonus and either the magical bonus of EITHER the Shield or the Dastana, whichever one was higher? (kind of like wearing 5 magic rings, you only gain the benefit from 2 of them, but you can still have the others on your fingers) Or could you gain the benefit from both the magical shield and dastana, but not magical armor?
The reason I'm asking is that I have a character in my campaign that does not use shields but would like to wear Dastana. I'm wondering if the official rules would allow me to give out "magical dastana" to the her that would increase her armor class, and eventually, magical dastana that have shield bonus abilites. Also, there is another character that fights with a two handed weapon, wears chain shirt and has the Improved Buckler Defense feat from Complete Warrior and was wondering if he could pick up Dastana also and then get them magically enchanted.
Please let me know what the rules say about all of this! Thanks!

~Wonka