Decisions while unconscious

Quasqueton

First Post
We've had the debate over whether unconscious characters get Will saves, and the majority say yes (because the RAW doesn't say no).

Say the character is unconscious. The party cleric moves up to cure wounds him. He of course never makes a save. Say an enemy cleric moves up to him and inflicts wounds on him. Does the unconscious character know he should resist this one? How can a DM rule on this?

Say a wizard moves up to the unconscious character and tries to teleport away with the character. If the wizard is an ally, the character would be willing. If the wizard is an enemy, the character would not be willing. How can a DM rule on this?

Can the DM rule that an unconscious character will always take a save roll? Or will never take a save roll? If neither answer is appropriate, how can the character decide when unconscious?

Quasqueton
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Ferret said:
Unconscious people are automatically willing. I can't find it in the SRd maybe its errata?

Yes, there is a rule that states that an unconcious target is automatically considered willing. Sorry, I can't point out it's location. But I've looked at it closely before, for similiar reasons that you're posting about...
 

It's from the Aiming a Spell, Target or Targets section.

SRD said:
Some spells restrict you to willing targets only. Declaring yourself as a willing target is something that can be done at any time (even if you’re flat-footed or it isn’t your turn). Unconscious creatures are automatically considered willing, but a character who is conscious but immobile or helpless (such as one who is bound, cowering, grappling, paralyzed, pinned, or stunned) is not automatically willing.
This is NOT for any spell with Will saves. It's only for certain spells like teleport and polymorph. You still get Will saves.
 


Quasqueton said:
We've had the debate over whether unconscious characters get Will saves, and the majority say yes (because the RAW doesn't say no).

You can elect to automatically fail a saving throw. If you're unconscious, you aren't making decisions, so you can't elect to automatically fail; therefore you attempt the save.

Effects with the (harmless) descriptor are an exception. You may elect to attempt a saving throw against those. If you're unconscious, you aren't making decisions, so you can't elect to attempt a save; therefore you automatically receive the effect.

If the effect only affects willing creatures, unconscious creatures are automatically affected, since they are considered willing.

Whether the caster is an ally or an enemy is irrelevant. The unconscious character will attempt a save against Inflict Light Wounds, will not attempt a save against Cure Light Wounds (harmless), and will be affected by Teleport (willing target), regardless of who casts them.

-Hyp.
 





Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top