Dimension Door

Would it be fair to assume that since the spellcaster loses a move action, all his tag along buddies should be limited to standard actions only after the dimension door?

Pinotage
 

log in or register to remove this ad



But by the time you can use Quickened Dimension Door, you have access to Greater Teleport, which is a lower level spell slot. The only advantage Dimension Door then has is with the verbal-only component.

Pinotage
 

Let's say you're a human and cast Dimension Door. Can you cast the spell and move up to 30' to touch up to 6 people? According to the recent "Rules of the Game: All About Mounts" it says you could do that while mounted. Does this apply, then, when on foot?

If you can, will the people arrive at their new location the same distance away from each other as they were? If not, does the wizard then choose where people are arranged?
 

KarinsDad has made most of the points I wanted to. It's just not that bad. Another big drawback that he didn't mention is that if the wizard Dimension Door's the fighter right next to the BBEG, that means the wizard is stuck right next to the BBEG until his next turn. He had better pray that the fighter has enough juice to take him down in one round!
Kershek said:
Let's say you're a human and cast Dimension Door. Can you cast the spell and move up to 30' to touch up to 6 people?
You cannot cast the spell and move. When you cast the spell you (and whoever is within reach that you choose to and have the ability to bring along) immediately transport, after which you lose the rest of your turn. But you could move and then cast the spell. This means that everyone you want to bring along has to be within 5' of the square the wizard is in when he casts.
If you can, will the people arrive at their new location the same distance away from each other as they were? If not, does the wizard then choose where people are arranged?
The entire group is transported as-is. You don't get to rearrange them. It's instantaneous transport. And since you can't move after you've cast the spell to touch allies that are spread out, it's always going to be the same rough arrangement: wizard surrounded by allies within 5'.
 

Then why are you able to move up to 60 feet (when on a light horse) to touch up to 6 allies after casting the spell? To me that seems to be inconsistent. Especially when, according to that Rules of the Game segment, that when moving a mount as a single move you're casting and then moving, not casting while moving.
 

I think it's a holdover that should have been eliminated.

For a while I thought it made sense and it represented the time spent while in the other dimension looking for the way out... silly me :p If that would have been the case, then also your transported allies should have had the same penalties. Still the spell doesn't make sense that you have no penalty if you move before.

The only sense left is that you shouldn't be allowed to use it to sneak past your opponents and do something good, but what could you do so good with a move action left? A quickened spell could be good, but it costs +4 slot. There could be some non-core stuff to let you cast a spell more quickly and at lower level, but I wouldn't balance a core DD with non-core stuff.

If having a move action left after DD is so bad, I'd have preferred that they had given DD a full-round casting time instead of this clunky restriction.
 

Li Shenron said:
If having a move action left after DD is so bad, I'd have preferred that they had given DD a full-round casting time instead of this clunky restriction.

LOL! I'm glad you used the word 'clunky'. My wife spent a whole morning telling me that there was no such word as clunky. Boy, did I enjoy being right!

Erm, back on topic, I'd agree that it is a restriction best left out. Maybe in my next campaign...

Pinotage
 

I'd have prefered, if they had made some general rules for disorientation after relocating via spells or abilities like this.

Bye
Thanee
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top