Disarm with a Reach Weapon

Lord Zardoz

Explorer
This has not come up yet, but it might. I recently created a Villian who is going to use a reach weapon with a Halberd to make life interesting for the players.

Anyway, it occurs to me that someone with a reach weapon may be able to perform a Disarm action (Or Sunder, or other similar action) on an opponent without provoking the AoO simply because he is out of reach of the opponent when he does so.

Is there any reason this would not work within the Rules?

END COMMUNICATION
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Do we have chapter and verse on that? (Not that I'm doubting you, ThirdWizard, I just like having the page numbers. That way if I'm arguing with my players I don't have to use the "Well, some guy on the internet said..." defense.)
 

I don't know where you'd find the rule. Is there a general rule that says you can't make an AoO on anyone you don't threaten? How are they going to claim the ability attack the guy 10 feet or more away from them without wielding a reach weapon of their own?
 

You can't make an attack of opportunity against an opponent you don't threaten.
SRD said:
Threatened Squares

You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your action. Generally, that means everything in all squares adjacent to your space (including diagonally). An enemy that takes certain actions while in a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity from you. If you’re unarmed, you don’t normally threaten any squares and thus can’t make attacks of opportunity.
However, a countertrip is not an attack of opportunity so you can make a counter trip against an opponent you do not threaten.

One of my favorite tactics is to trip an opponent using improved trip with a reach weapon and then disarm as the follow up attack. Being prone gives a -4 on the attack roll made to resist being disarmed.
 



Or make it a Glaive, or a Guisarme, or a Glaive-Guisarme. Halberds were a Reach weapon in 3.0, I think. I know they're a Reach weapon in AE. Anyway, they've always been a polearm, I don't know why they no longer have Reach. What makes a Halberd preferable to a Great Axe now?

On the subject of Monkey Gripped Polearms, you could have a three rank formation with melee weapons up front, polearms behind them, and MG'd Large Polearms behind them, all attacking the adjacent opponent to the front line. What are the penalties to attacking past allies?
 



Remove ads

Top